Vocational Fit #1:您的工作与您的呼召相符吗?

ปฏิทิน

25/03/2023

ข้อความ

0

25/03/2023

0

Vocational Fit 1: Does Your Work Match Your Calling?

我们如何知道我们的工作是否符合我们的呼召?有什么方法可以衡量我们所做的是否符合上帝对我们的设计? Kevin 和 Kay Marie Brennfleck 是这么认为的。在他们的书中, 活出你的使命:寻找和完成人生使命的实用指南,作者讨论了上帝如何呼召我们主动管理我们的恩赐。在这个关于“职业契合度”的系列中,我将转述他们的一些内容并加入我自己的想法。

 活出你的使命:寻找和完成人生使命的实用指南

凯文和凯·玛丽·布伦弗莱克 (Kevin and Kay Marie Brennfleck)

评分:4 分,总分为 5 分。

作为 Amazon Associate,我可以从符合条件的购买中获利,而无需您支付额外费用。

职业契合度的 5 个等级

评估你作为恩赐管家做得如何的一种方法是 评估您的职业适合度.职业契合度是上帝赋予的设计与工作之间的匹配程度。在这里,“工作”是指您的主要职业,无论是在有偿工作、家庭还是志愿者活动中。

作者在他们的书中讨论了职业契合度的 5 个级别。尝试阅读,看看哪个级别最能描述您此时的生活状态!

职业契合度的 5 个等级

第 1 级:“这只是一份工作。”

最低水平的职业契合度是当一个人认为他或她的工作“只是一个 工作'. 1 级工作可能会提供薪水,但 几乎没有享受感或满足感.有时我们只需要找到一份工作来支付账单,但大多数人通常希望尽快离开。

我的想法:

重要的是要认识到,由于某些人的情况或可用机会,这种适合度可能是他们的唯一选择。在人类历史的大部分时间里,世界上大多数人都发现自己陷入了这种境地。许多人以奴隶或农民的身份工作,每天为生存而挣扎。他们根本没有继续前进的选择。所以,这并不是说 1 级工作没有用或没有意义。虽然这可能并不理想,但以积极的态度对待这份工作仍然很重要。

话虽这么说,对于那些有机会这样做的人来说,重要的是要寻求更高水平的职业契合度,以便在工作中找到更大的成就感和目标。

例如,我有一些学生说他们总是可以在快餐店工作谋生。 “当然,你总能在那里做一份体面的兼职工作,”我说。 “但你准备好终生从事这项工作了吗?”

如果我们把我们的工作看作 无非是一份工作 (无论它是什么),我们永远不会体验到职业整合——即我们正在履行上帝对我们生命的呼召的感觉。

第 2 级:“好吧,我做的工作还不错,我有些兴趣”。

二级是有一定兴趣的 OK 工作。很多人卡在这个层次。尽管他们可能会感到有些不满,但可能没有足够的不满来激励他们做出改变,尤其是当他们的薪水不错的时候。

我的想法:

我的猜测是,许多人正在从事他们受过培训的工作。在新加坡,我们的失业率为 2.1%,在经合组织经济体中属于相当低的水平。就工作概况而言,2022 年 PMET(专业人员、经理、执行人员和技术人员)占所有就业居民的 64%(根据此 2022年报告).

然而,根据 盖洛普 2022 年全球工作场所状况,全球只有 21% 的员工从事工作。我下载了这份报告以查看新加坡的统计数据。 这是一个令人沮丧的 13%.因此,我们中的许多人都停留在这个水平上的说法可能比我们想象的更真实。

那么这个级别和下一个级别之间的区别是什么?

第 3 级:“我正在做令人愉快和满意的工作。”

在职业适应度的第三级,人们发现自己处于 愉快的工作 这可能会令人满意很多年。然而,一旦人们在工作中获得了能力,他们可能会体验到对更有意义的东西的需求。

我的想法:

这似乎符合盖洛普对积极参与的定义。这意味着员工“高度参与并热衷于他们的工作和工作场所。他们是心理上的“主人”,推动绩效和创新,推动组织向前发展”(盖洛普)。

如果我们按照盖洛普的统计数据,当今世界上只有大约五分之一的人至少达到了这种职业适合度。

第 4 级:“我正在做有意义的工作!”

四级是 有意义的工作, 人们觉得他们是 为一个重要的目标做出贡献或回馈一些东西.这个级别的人通常从事适合他们技能的工作,但有时他们最受组织使命的激励。

我的想法

虽然这些工人很少见且介于两者之间,但他们的使命感和目标感清楚地认可了他们。例如从事社会服务和人道主义工作的人、教育工作者、医疗专业人员和宗教服务人员。

正如 Federick Buechner 所说,“上帝呼召你去的地方就是你深深的喜悦和世界深深的渴望相遇的地方。”

当我们有意识地满足比我们自己更大的需求或目的时,我们处于第 4 级,在做有意义的工作。

第 5 级:“我正在做 确切地 我是做什么的!

职业契合度五级是 职业整合.这是最高级别的职业契合度,一个人的工作就是他或她是谁的表达。

作者列举了一些生活体现职业融合的人的例子:

  • 罗杰斯先生(儿童电视节目的创新者);
  • Zig Ziglar(励志演说家);
  • 伊丽莎白·多尔(参议员、公务员);
  • 查尔斯·舒尔茨(《花生》的创作者);特鲁特
  • Cathy(Chick-fil-A 餐厅的创始人);
  • 玫琳凯艾施(玫琳凯化妆品公司首席执行官);和
  • Orel Hershiser、Michael Chang 和 David Robinson(运动员)。
(从左到右)Rogers 先生、Zig Ziglar、Elizabeth Dole。
Michael Chang的证词

在工作世界中实现职业融合的人似乎通过做自己来谋生。他们的独特设计在他们所做的事情中清晰可见;他们的个人身份与他们的工作身份融合在一起。他们觉得他们正在做他们应该做的工作。第五层次的人对他们的工作充满热情,他们做出的生活选择使他们能够追求更多的机会和职业发展。

我的想法

也许您可能会对似乎达到这种职业适合度的人名单感到害怕。他们都是世界级的专家,做着他们最擅长的事情。

好吧,与其因为认为不可能达到他们的成功水平而感到气馁,我认为更有帮助的是看看他们如何表明生活在这种职业适应水平上是 可能的.

这些人都不是以专家身份开始的。这就是说,没有人是从第 5 级开始的。他们每个人都在通过反复试验、不断的实践和培训,甚至是考验和磨难来找到自己的使命的过程中成长。

如果你问他们,他们不会说他们已经到了,而是在不断地学习和成长。

此外,所引用的例子似乎表明,这个级别的人是 非常有能力和高薪.这可能不是作者的本意,因为显然还有其他高职业整合的领导人物质上仍然贫穷,但却过着富裕的生活。像特蕾莎修女和纳尔逊曼德拉这样的例子浮现在脑海中。

所有这一切都说明,生活在这种职业契合度水平上既 可能的 可取的.

结论

总之,职业契合度是一个重要的考虑因素,当涉及到在一个人的人生使命中找到满足感和满足感时。正如这篇博文所概述的那样,职业契合度分为五个级别,最高级别是完全职业融合,即工作与呼唤相匹配。但是,不是每个人都可以达到这个水平,这没关系。

作者很快提醒我们,“任何工作,无论它多么适合,都让我们有机会通过在工作场所成为上帝的代表来实现我们的主要呼召。在任何工作中,我们每天都被要求对我们的老板、同事、客户和其他人表现出亲切的服务态度。 ......在我们的工作中,就像我们生活的方方面面一样,我们被呼召成为上帝的子民。”

无论它只是一份工作还是完全融入您的使命,重要的是评估您当前的职业适合度并确定它是否符合您的价值观和目标。做出改变以提高职业适应性可以带来更多机会来完成您的使命。

那么,我们如何在职业契合度水平上进步呢?怎样才能更符合我们的呼召?这将是本系列下一篇博文的主题。

有关通话和工作的更多信息

本文是关于呼叫和工作的一系列帖子的一部分。查看其他探讨我们如何在工作世界中实现使命的文章:

以下是一些有用的评论和资源:

想法或反馈?请随时在下面发表您的评论!

标签:

喜欢它?与您的朋友分享!

你也许也喜欢…

发表回复

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

zh_CN简体中文

本网站使用 cookie 来确保您在我们的网站上获得最佳体验。

Vocational Fit #1: Does Your Work Match Your Calling?

ปฏิทิน

25/03/2023

ข้อความ

0

25/03/2023

0

Vocational Fit 1: Does Your Work Match Your Calling?

How do we know if our work matches our calling? Is there any way to measure if what we do is in line with who God designed us to be? Kevin and Kay Marie Brennfleck think so. In their book, Live Your Calling: A Practical Guide to Finding and Fulfilling Your Mission in Life, the authors discussed how God calls us to proactive stewardship of our gifts. In this series on “vocational fit”, I will be paraphrasing some of their content and adding my own thoughts.

 Live Your Calling: A Practical Guide to Finding and Fulfilling Your Mission in Life

by Kevin and Kay Marie Brennfleck

Rating: 4 out of 5.

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases at no additional cost to you.

The 5 Levels of Vocational Fit

One way of evaluating how well you are doing as a steward of your gifts is to assess your level of vocational fit. Vocational fit is the degree of match, between your God-given design and your work. Here, “work” refers to your primary occupation, whether it is within paid employment, the home, or volunteer activities.

The authors discuss 5 levels of vocational fit in their book. Try reading to see which level best describes where you are at this point in your life!

The 5 Levels of Vocational Fit

Level 1: “It’s just a Job.”

The lowest level of vocational fit is when a person sees his or her work as ‘just a job‘. A level 1 job may provide a paycheck but little sense of enjoyment or satisfaction. Sometimes we need to get just a job to pay the bills, but most people typically want to move on as quickly as possible.

My thoughts:

It’s important to recognize that this level of fit may be the only option for some individuals due to their circumstances or available opportunities. The majority population in the world for a large part of human history find themselves stuck in this situation. Many worked their lives as slaves or peasants, living day to day struggling for survival. They simply don’t have a choice to move on. So, this is not to say that a level 1 job is useless or meaningless. While it may not be ideal, it’s still important to approach the job with a positive attitude.

That being said, for those who have the opportunity to do so, it’s important to seek out a higher level of vocational fit to find a greater sense of fulfillment and purpose in their work.

For example, I have some students who said they can always work at a fast food restaurant for a living. “Sure, you can always do a decent part-time job there,” I said. “But are you prepared to work at it for life?”

If we see our work as nothing more than a job (whatever it may be), we will never experience vocational integration – the sense that we are fulfilling God’s calling in our life.

Level 2: “Well, I’m doing OK work that is of some interest to me”.

Level two is OK work that is of some interest. Many people get stuck at this level. Although they may feel somewhat discontented, there may not be enough dissatisfaction to motivate them to make a change particularly if they are making a good salary.

My thoughts:

My guess is that many people are working at jobs they are trained for. In Singapore, our unemployment rate is 2.1%, which is pretty low among the OECD economies. In terms of job profile, PMETs (Professionals, Managers, Executives, and Technicians) made up 64% of all employed residents in 2022 (according to this 2022 report).

Yet, according to Gallup’s State of the Global Workplace 2022, only 21 percent of employees globally are engaged in the workplace. I downloaded the report to look up Singapore’s statistics. It is at a dismal 13%. So the statement that many of us are stuck at this level is probably truer than we thought.

What marks the difference between this and the next level then?

Level 3: “I’m doing Enjoyable and Satisfying Work.”

At level three of vocational fit, people find themselves in enjoyable work that may be satisfying for many years. Once people have achieved competency in their work, however, they may experience a need for something more meaningful.

My thoughts:

This seems to fit Gallup’s definition of being actively engaged. It means that employees are “highly involved in and enthusiastic about their work and workplace. They are psychological “owners,” drive performance and innovation, and move the organization forward” (Gallup).

If we go by the Gallup statistics, only about 1 in 5 people in the world today attained at least this level of vocational fit.

Level 4: “I’m doing Meaningful Work!”

Level four is meaningful work, in which people feel they are contributing to a significant purpose or giving something back. People at this level usually are in work that is a good fit for their skills, but sometimes they are most motivated by the mission of the organization.

My thoughts

While these workers are rare and in between, they are clearly recognized by their sense of mission and purpose. Examples are people who work in social services and humanitarian work, educators, medical professionals, and those in religious service.

As Federick Buechner says, “The place God calls you to is the place where your deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet.”

When we are intentionally fulfilling a need or purpose that is larger than ourselves, we are at Level 4 doing meaningful work.

Level 5: “I’m doing exactly what I am made for!’

Level five of vocational fit is vocational integration. This is the highest level of vocational fit, in which a person’s work is an expression of who he or she is.

The authors cited some examples of people whose lives exemplify vocational integration:

  • Mister Rogers (an innovator in children’s television programs);
  • Zig Ziglar (motivational speaker);
  • Elizabeth Dole (senator, public servant);
  • Charles Schultz (creator of “Peanuts”); Truett
  • Cathy (founder of Chick-fil-A restaurants);
  • Mary Kay Ash (CEO, Mary Kay Cosmetics); and
  • Orel Hershiser, Michael Chang, and David Robinson (athletes).
(From left to right) Mister Rogers, Zig Ziglar, Elizabeth Dole.
Michael Chang’s testimony

People who have achieved vocational integration in the work world seem to earn their living by being themselves. Their unique design is clearly visible in what they do; their personal identity is merged with their work identity. They feel that they are doing the type of work they were meant to do. Passionate about their work, level five individuals make life choices that allow them to pursue additional opportunities and professional growth.

My thoughts

Perhaps you may feel intimidated by the list of people who seemed to attain this level of vocational fit. They are all world-class experts doing what they do best.

Well, rather than feeling discouraged believing that it is impossible to attain their level of success, I think it is more helpful to see how they show that living at this level of vocational fit is possible.

None of these people started life as an expert. This is to say, no one begins at Level 5. Each of them grows through their journey of finding their calling through trial and error, constant practice and training, and even trials and tribulations to reach where they are.

And if you ask them, they won’t say they have arrived, but are continuously learning and growing.

Also, the examples cited seem to suggest that people at this level are exceptionally capable and well-paid. This may not be what the authors intended to say, because clearly there are other leaders with high vocational integration that remain materially poor, yet live an abundant life. Examples like Mother Theresa and Nelson Mandela come to mind.

All this to say that, living at this level of vocational fit is both possible and desirable.

Conclusion

In conclusion, vocational fit is an important factor to consider when it comes to finding satisfaction and fulfillment in one’s life calling. As outlined in this blog post, there are five levels of vocational fit, with the highest level being full vocational integration where one’s work matches their calling. However, not everyone may reach this level, and that is okay.

The authors are quick to remind us that “any job, regardless of how well it fits, gives us an opportunity to live our primary calling by being God’s representative in the workplace. In any job, we are called daily to exhibit a gracious attitude of service toward our boss, coworkers, customers, and others. …In our job, as in every aspect of our lives, we are called to be God’s people.”

Whether it’s just a job or a full integration of your calling, it’s important to assess your current vocational fit and determine if it aligns with your values and goals. Making changes to improve vocational fit can lead to greater opportunities to fulfill your calling.

So, how do we progress through the levels of vocational fit? What does it take to become more aligned with our calling? That will be the topic for our next blog post in this series.

More on Calling and Work

This article is part of a series of posts about calling and work. Check out the other articles that explore how we can live out our calling in the world of work:

Here are some helpful reviews and resources:

Thoughts or feedback? Feel free to drop in your comment below!

TAGS:

Like it? Share it with your friends!

en_USEnglish

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.