寻找新工作或职业(第 1 部分)

ปฏิทิน

04/03/2023

ข้อความ

1

04/03/2023

1

Russ Gehrlein Seeking a New Job or Career Part 1

当我们选择新的工作或事业时,我们如何“先寻求神的国”?今天,我们有幸分享一个 文章 由我们的客座博主兼作者 Russell Gehrlein 撰写 以马内利的劳动——上帝在我们的职业中的存在:对工作教义的圣经、神学和实践方法.

此访客帖子首次出现 这里 在他的博客上。它是 2 篇文章系列的第一部分。

Russell Gehrlein author of Immanuel Labor昨天,我和我的妻子收到了她侄子的一封手写精美的信,宣布了一些关于他职业道路改变的令人振奋的消息。我们一生都是这个年轻人的啦啦队,这就是他花时间写作的原因。我们很高兴他与我们分享了他的新机会。

当我回答时,我知道我从两年前的一次独立研究中开发的研讨会中获得了一些实用的见解,题为 以马内利的劳动:上帝在工作中的目的、计划和存在 在这个紧要关头,这可能对他有帮助。由于我们的大儿子在学年结束时也在他的职业生涯中做出重大改变,我认为与更广泛的观众分享这些想法会很好。

先求神的国

从这个概念开始对我来说似乎是谨慎的 先求神的国.我的儿子和侄子正在这样做,这让我感到非常鼓舞。

那么,我们如何在我们的职业生涯中做到这一点?普兰廷加,在 进入上帝的世界, 说,在选择职业时“先为国度奋斗”,基督徒会问自己一些特定的问题:

  • 神要我在国度的什么地方工作?
  • 哪里需求大而工人少?
  • 诱惑在哪里可以控制?
  • 我想做的工作有多诚实?
  • 我将帮助提供的商品和服务的必要性和健康程度如何?
  • 我能否顺利地将拟议的职业与成为配偶或父母结合起来?
  • 我在一个系统中提出的职业是否如此腐败,以至于即使有最好的意图,我最终也会吸收比我征服的更多的邪恶?
  • 我的职业生涯会为“其中最少的”做些什么?

这些都是棘手的问题,但我认为如果我们诚实,可能有助于缩小我们看到的无限可能性,以便我们做出最好、最荣耀上帝的选择。

所有这些东西都会给你

威瑟林顿在他的书中 工作:国度视角下的劳动, 指出“我们不只是选择我们的职业。我们被引导到他们那里,这意味着我们必须敞开心扉,聆听上帝呼召我们在生活中做什么。即使当我们被呼召和恩赐去做某事时,上帝也不会简单地任凭我们自行其是。相反,他指导我们并指导我们的工作。”

“我们不只是选择我们的职业。我们被引导到他们那里,这意味着我们必须敞开心扉,聆听上帝呼召我们在生活中做什么。即使当我们被呼召和恩赐去做某事时,上帝也不会简单地任凭我们自行其是。相反,他指导我们并指导我们的工作。”

Ben Witherington,工作:关于劳工的王国视角

以上是个人见解。耶稣告诉祂的门徒, “你们先求他的国和他的义,这些东西都要加给你们了”(太6:33; 路加福音 12:31). 在上下文中,耶稣是在谈论上帝如何满足他的创造物(包括我们)的基本需求(即食物和衣服)。他通常如何满足这些需求?通过我们的工作,这些工作为我们和我们的家人提供了购买食物和衣服的钱。我发现先寻求上帝和找到合适的工作之间有着非常明显的联系。

“当我奔跑时,我感受到他的喜悦……”

在这一点上,我展示了一段视频剪辑,它很好地说明了我们刚刚讨论的内容。  烈火战车 1981年获得奥斯卡最佳影片奖。讲述了两位英国田径运动员,一位是坚定的犹太人,一位是虔诚的基督徒,他们参加了1924年的奥运会。这是一个很棒的故事。在这一幕中,埃里克·利德尔 (Eric Liddell) 正在向他的妹妹珍妮 (Jenny) 解释他对上帝呼召的感觉,珍妮一直担心他为奥运会投入的长时间训练会使他偏离成为一名运动员的呼召。到中国传教。

埃里克说,“我相信上帝创造我是有目的的——为了中国。  但他也让我禁食。当我奔跑时,我感受到祂的喜悦。 . .获胜就是荣耀他。”

埃里克·利德尔 (1902-1945)。资料来源:改编自 英国广播公司.

“我相信上帝造我是有目的的——为了中国。  但他也让我禁食。当我奔跑时,我感受到祂的喜悦。 . .获胜就是荣耀他。”

埃里克·利德尔

你呢?是什么让你觉得自己正在做上帝设计你要做的事情,并且通过这样做让上帝喜悦?

找到你的电话或职业

接下来,我们讨论 找到你的电话或职业.这就是我要分享的。

首先,开始职业生涯或寻找新工作始终是 精神之旅 为基督徒。 

你必须花一些时间阅读圣经,祈求智慧,并相信神会带领你。他承诺他会那样做(例如, 诗。 25:12, 32:8;省。 16:9)。我的侄子提醒我在过渡时期相信上帝的重要性,因为最终结果并不总是明确的。离开一条已经走过多年的道路并踏上一条新的、不太清晰的道路并不容易。他表示,“这一变化挑战我去相信上帝并倾听他的指导。”

其次,我们必须检查 上帝的设计 (自我评估)。  

问自己这些问题: 

  • 根据兴趣、技能、成就和经验,上帝特别设计你做什么?  
  • 你最关心和热衷于什么?  
  • 关于你的天赋,别人在你身上注意到了什么?

第三,你必须审视你所有的选择,并在工作机会出现时做出合理而及时的决定。  

接受对你来说最好的工作,作为信仰的一步。最后,继续聆听上帝对你的职业所说的话,因为它可能会随着时间而改变。

尼尔森,在 工作事项, 如此说,“在灵魂层面,我们渴望实现我们被创造并安置在世界上的目的。 . .虽然拥有大量的人生里程确实增加了有益的视角,但我相信在人生的任何阶段,你都可以辨别并活出你在世界上荣耀上帝的职业贡献。”

“在灵魂层面,我们渴望实现我们被创造并安置在世界上的目的。 . .虽然拥有大量的人生里程确实增加了有益的视角,但我相信在人生的任何阶段,你都可以辨别并活出你在世界上荣耀上帝的职业贡献。”

汤姆尼尔森,工作很重要

结论

你可能还记得我自己 个人的经历 大学毕业后找到我的第一份工作,打电话给部委,并在军队工作了 30 多年。我现在明白了,它并不像我原先想象的那么不典型。 

哈代,在 这个世界的织物, 解释说:“职业道路很少是笔直的。通常他们会受到弯路、无标记的十字路口、强行出口、死胡同和死胡同的折磨。” 

职业道路很少是笔直的。通常,他们会受到弯路、无标记的十字路口、强行出口、死胡同和死胡同的困扰。

Lee Hardy,这个世界的织物

基于这一评估,我鼓励你做好灵活的准备,并永远记住保罗在书中大胆宣告的内容。 罗马书 8:28”,“神在万事上互相效力,叫爱他的人得益处,就是按他旨意被召的人。”

这些是寻找或改变职业领域的一些一般原则。下一次,我将分享更多关于找到合适的工作的见解。

拉斯·格尔莱因 目前在密苏里州伦纳德伍德堡的美国陆军工作。在军队服役 20 多年之前,他教过高中数学和科学。他获得了大急流城神学院的文学硕士学位。 Russ 定期写博客 并且是的作者 以马内利的劳动——上帝在我们的职业中的同在:工作教义的圣经、神学和实践方法. 他和他的妻子有三个孩子和五个孙子。

免责声明:作为亚马逊合作伙伴,我从符合条件的购买中获利.


本文是关于呼叫和工作的一系列帖子的一部分。查看其他探讨我们如何在工作世界中实现使命的文章:

以下是一些有用的评论和资源:

想法或反馈?请随时在下面发表您的评论!

标签:

喜欢它?与您的朋友分享!

zh_CN简体中文

本网站使用 cookie 来确保您在我们的网站上获得最佳体验。

Seeking a New Job or Career (Part 1)

ปฏิทิน

04/03/2023

ข้อความ

1

04/03/2023

1

Russ Gehrlein Seeking a New Job or Career Part 1

How do we “seek first the kingdom of God” when we choose a new job or career? Today, we are privileged to share an article written by Russell Gehrlein, our guest blogger and author of Immanuel Labor – God’s Presence in our Profession: A Biblical, Theological, and Practical Approach to the Doctrine of Work.

This guest post first appeared here on his blog. It is the first part of a 2-articles series.

Russell Gehrlein author of Immanuel LaborYesterday, my wife and I received a nice hand-written letter from her nephew, announcing some exciting news regarding a change in his career path.  We have been cheerleaders for this young man his entire life, which is why he took the time to write.  We were elated that he shared his new opportunity with us.

As I responded, I knew I had some practical insights from a seminar I developed during an independent study two years ago entitled Immanuel Labor:  God’s Purpose, Plan, and Presence at Work that might be helpful to him at this critical juncture.  As our oldest son is also making a major change in his career at the end of the school year, I thought it would be good to share these thoughts with a wider audience.

Seek first the Kingdom of God

It seemed prudent for me to begin with the concept of seeking first the kingdom of God.  It is extremely encouraging to me that my son and nephew are doing just that.

So, how do we do that with respect to our careers?  Plantinga, in Engaging God’s World, states, “To strive first for the kingdom’ in choosing a career, a Christian will ask himself particular questions:

  • Where in the kingdom does God want me to work?
  • Where are the needs great and the workers few?
  • Where are the temptations manageable?
  • How honest is the work I’m thinking of doing?
  • How necessary and how healthy are the goods and services I would help provide?
  • How smoothly could I combine my proposed career with being a spouse or a parent?
  • Is my proposed career inside a system so corrupt that, even with the best intentions, I would end up absorbing a lot more evil than I conquer?
  • What would my career do for “the least of these?”

These are tough questions, but I think if we were honest, it might help narrow down the endless possibilities we see before us, so that we can make the best, most God-honoring choice.

And all these things will be given to you

Witherington, in his book Work: A Kingdom Perspective on Labor, states “We do not simply choose our vocations.  We are led to them, and this implies that we must be open to hearing from God what he is calling us to do in life.  Even when we have been called and gifted to do something, God does not simply leave us to our own devices.  Rather, he guides us and steers us in our work.”

“We do not simply choose our vocations.  We are led to them, and this implies that we must be open to hearing from God what he is calling us to do in life.  Even when we have been called and gifted to do something, God does not simply leave us to our own devices.  Rather, he guides us and steers us in our work.”

Ben Witherington, Work: A Kingdom Perspective on Labor

Here’s a personal insight. Jesus told His disciples, “Seek first his kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well” (Matt. 6:33; Luke 12:31). In context, Jesus was speaking about how God meets the basic needs (i.e., food and clothing) of His creatures, including us.  How does He normally meet those needs? Through our jobs, which provide money to purchase food and clothing for us and our families.  I see a very clear connection between seeking God first and finding the right job.

‘And when I run, I feel His pleasure…’

At this point, I show a video clip that illustrates well what we just discussed.  Chariots of Fire won the Academy Award for Best Picture in 1981.  It is about two British track and field athletes, one a determined Jew and the other a devout Christian, who competed in the 1924 Olympics.  It’s a great story.  This is a scene where Eric Liddell is explaining his sense of God’s calling to his sister, Jenny, who has been worrying that the long hours he has been putting into his training for the Olympic games is going to derail him from his calling to be a missionary to China.

Eric says, “I believe that God made me for a purpose – for China.  But He also made me fast.  And when I run, I feel His pleasure. . . To win is to honor Him.”

Eric Liddell (1902-1945). Source: Adapted from BBC UK.

“I believe that God made me for a purpose – for China.  But He also made me fast.  And when I run, I feel His pleasure. . . To win is to honor Him.”

Eric Liddell

What about you?  What is it that you do that makes you feel like you are doing exactly what God has designed you to do, and by doing it, gives God pleasure?

Finding your calling or vocation

Next, we discuss finding your calling or vocation.  This is what I have to share.

First off, starting a career or finding a new job is always a spiritual journey for the Christian. 

You must spend some time in the Bible, pray for wisdom, and trust God to lead you.  He promises that He will just that (e.g., Ps. 25:12, 32:8; Prov. 16:9).  My nephew reminded me about the importance of trusting God through the time of transition, as the end result is not always clear.  It is not easy to leave a path that has been traveled for many years and embarking on a new, less clear path.  He states that “the change challenged me to trust God and listen to his guidance.”

Second, we must examine God’s design (self-assessment).  

Ask yourself these questions: 

  • What has God specifically designed you to do, based on interests, skills, accomplishments, and experiences?  
  • What are you most concerned and passionate about?  
  • What have others noticed in you regarding your gifts?

Third, you must look at all your options and make a sound and timely decision when a job is offered.  

Accept the job that seems best to you as a step of faith.  Finally, keep on listening to what God is saying about your vocation because it will likely change over time.

Nelson, in Work Matters, says this, “At soul level, we long to fulfill the purpose for which we have been created and placed in the world. . . While having a good deal of life mileage under your belt does add helpful perspective, I believe that at any stage of life you can discern and live out your God-honoring vocational contribution in the world.”

“At soul level, we long to fulfill the purpose for which we have been created and placed in the world. . . While having a good deal of life mileage under your belt does add helpful perspective, I believe that at any stage of life you can discern and live out your God-honoring vocational contribution in the world.”

Tom Nelson, Work Matters

Conclusion

You may recall my own personal experiences with finding my first job after college, call to ministry, and jobs in and with the Army for over 30 years.  I understand now that it is not as atypical as I had originally thought. 

Hardy, in Fabric of This World, explains: “Career paths are rarely straight.  Typically they are afflicted by detours, unmarked intersections, forced exits, blind alleys, and cul-de-sacs.” 

Career paths are rarely straight.  Typically they are afflicted by detours, unmarked intersections, forced exits, blind alleys, and cul-de-sacs.

Lee Hardy, Fabric of This World

Based on this assessment, I would encourage you to be prepared to be flexible, and to always remember what Paul boldly declares in Romans 8:28, “in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

These are some general principles on finding or changing career fields.  Next time, I will share some more insights on finding the right job that fits.

Russ Gehrlein is currently working for the U.S. Army at Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri. He taught high school math and science before serving more than 20 years of active duty in the army. He earned a MA from Grand Rapids Theological Seminary. Russ blogs regularly and is the author of Immanuel Labor—God’s Presence in our Profession: A Biblical, Theological, and Practical Approach to the Doctrine of Work. He and his wife have three children and five grandchildren.

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.


This article is part of a series of posts about calling and work. Check out the other articles that explore how we can live out our calling in the world of work:

Here are some helpful reviews and resources:

Thoughts or feedback? Feel free to drop in your comment below!

TAGS:

Like it? Share it with your friends!

en_USEnglish

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.