Michael Low 谈呼召、财富和对年轻人的施助

ปฏิทิน

25/11/2021

ข้อความ

2

25/11/2021

2

Conversation with Michael Low

本周我与 Michael Low 进行了一次有价值的谈话,他的职业生涯始于律师,然后是一名银行家,后来去了圣经学校 摄政学院 (我的梦想之一!)。

三年前他带着妻子回来时,我们在一个班级认识。从那时起,他担任了晋升顾问一职 资源领导国际,利用他的经验和网络来帮助沟通和发展在世界各地培养基督教领袖的愿景。 他还在他的教会担任青年和青年牧师,以及 BGST 兼职讲师和培训师。

您可以在 Salt and Light 早些时候的采访中阅读更多关于他的故事 这里.

迈克尔的专长和热情领域是帮助人们(尤其是年轻人)找到他们的使命。在这次谈话中,我希望更多地了解他对召唤、财富和对年轻人的施助的见解。

:谢谢你的时间,迈克尔!关于找到我们生命中的召唤,有很多东西要向你学习。我很好奇:这个找到你的电话的过程对你来说是什么样的?

迈克尔: 很高兴和你聊天,Marcus。我仍然在寻找我的使命的路上,也许到目前为止我最大的收获是找到我们的使命是一个过程和旅程,而不是一个目的地。

: 但愿如此!请问您以前从事过哪些行业?你认为你现在的职业是什么?

迈克尔: 在我去丽晶之前,我做过律师和银行家。回来后,我现在有 4 个兼职角色:青少年牧师、筹款人、讲师和培训师。我认为自己的职业是什么?帮助人们找到或有效地发挥他们的作用。

早期工作生活:寻求融合

: 这对我们今天的许多人来说非常重要。所以迈克尔,在你接受 Salt & Light 采访时,你分享了你曾经觉得自己作为一名年轻律师过着双重生活。想在这里为我们的读者详细说明吗?

迈克尔: 当然。那时我在一个高压、有毒的工作环境中工作。我的许多同事都在抽烟和说脏话,而我有点融入其中。如果你在办公室看到我,很难想象有人会知道我是基督徒。

但是到了星期天,我就会变一个人。我是教会的敬拜带领人,我们也会在周五晚上开放我们的房子进行小组聚会,尽管我们俩都忙于工作以至于我们很少出现!最多我能在他们离开时早点说再见。在内心深处,我知道有些事情不太对劲。

:那一定是一段艰难的经历,感觉你正在过着两种截然不同的生活。

迈克尔: 是的。这就像我们的信仰和我们的工作之间缺乏整合。我将它们视为我生活中明显不同的领域,并且在某种程度上,不知不觉中,我非常敏锐地感受到了这种二分法带来的不适。

: 神圣与世俗的鸿沟。事后看来,您认为您可以如何更好地处理这些斗争?你会给年轻的自己什么样的建议?

迈克尔: 这个不错我会这样说: 建立精神友谊.有空间与在你的精神之旅中与你同在的朋友分享工作、生活、家庭中真实的挣扎。

: 你能找到这种“安全空间”来讨论你在教会中的工作挣扎吗?

迈克尔: 就是这样……我永远不会知道,因为我没有尝试去问。我想那时候我们没有讨论这种事情的文化。我们很少深入谈论我们在教堂的工作生活。我们没有深刻、稳健的工作神学来处理这些现实生活中的一些问题。所以我可能会想,这取决于我自己想办法。而且因为我无法管理它,所以我决定离开练习(从某种意义上说,逃跑)。事后看来,那是我真正需要精神上的朋友或导师与我一起解决问题的时候。

迈克尔在摄政学院最好的朋友是他们最亲密的精神朋友,他们见证了他们的起起落落。

: 谢谢你的诚实。在您离开律师事务所后,您作为专业受托人的下一份工作是一个更快乐的地方。愿意分享更多吗?

迈克尔: 当然。我在不同的银行担任专业受托人 15 年。我能够更好地应对压力。部分原因是我和我的妻子学会了通过保护我们的时间来保护我们的婚姻。以前,我们常常工作很长时间。学会找到更好的工作与生活平衡有助于为我们的生活留出一些余地。

: 看得出你是一个很以人为本的人。个性在影响您辨别电话的过程中扮演什么角色?

迈克尔: 是的,我确实喜欢与人一起工作。事实上,作为一名诉讼律师,我也可以结识来自社会各阶层的人。但我想诉讼工作的性质是这样的,这种关系更具交易性。而作为银行的受托人,我可以与客户建立更长期的关系。

: 是的。那当然是您可以蓬勃发展的地方!

迈克尔: 真的。我也是一个问题解决者。因此,从某种意义上说,我解决问题和与人合作的倾向结合在一起,无论是在我作为律师还是作为专业受托人的工作中。主要区别在于,找律师的人已经遇到了问题,而与银行和受托人打交道的人则在先发制人。我也喜欢多样性,每个案件都是不同的——无论是在法庭上还是在银行——每次都会带来新的挑战。

建立属灵的友谊。有空间与在你的精神之旅中与你同在的朋友分享工作、生活、家庭中真实的挣扎。

寻找信仰与工作的一致性:摄政学院之路

: 那么,是什么让你决定去摄政学院?

迈克尔: 尽管我对自己的工作很满意,但我无法将我的工作与我的基督教信仰联系起来。我正在为富人看管钱财,但这对服务神的国度有何帮助?上帝真的关心我朝九晚五做什么吗?

是通过一本书, 其他六天:从圣经的角度看职业、工作和事工, 保罗史蒂文斯,我开始学习工作神学。这激起了我的兴趣,想更深入地了解上帝如何设计工作本身是好的。这促使我申请在摄政学院学习市场神学。

:关于您的电话,您从 Regent 那里得到的主要收获是什么?

迈克尔:关于打电话,尤其是我自己的电话,我最大的收获是 没有“一刀切”的药方,这确实是一段需要步行和发现的旅程。 用帕克·帕默的话来说,我们的召唤是要被接受的礼物。

这确实是我的经历,在我与保罗·史蒂文斯 (Paul Stevens) 一起上的一堂课中表现得最为生动,我们花了 10 周的时间拜访了人们的工作场所。我们拜访了各种各样的人,从一名直升机维修工程师(前传教士),一个拥有并经营温哥华最古老的鸡蛋包装厂之一的家庭,温哥华最好的水疗中心之一的所有者,一个非营利项目协调员,以及温哥华最著名的鞋类设计师和制造商之一,也是温哥华新兴咖啡连锁店之一的所有者,以及许多其他人。我最大的启示是,上帝在他们的每一次旅程中都遇见了他们,当我们遇见他们时,他们都非常清楚自己的呼召,但他们也分享说,这是一段充满挑战、复杂、有时难以理解的旅程,并且拥抱,他们的呼唤。

Michael 和 Paul Stevens 教授,他形容他“对我的生活和信仰之旅产生了巨大影响,教会我将信仰和工作结合起来,无论我们身在何处,都能为上帝服务。”

知道我们的每一次旅程都是我们自己的,并且上帝会带领和引导我们走自己的旅程,并为我们制定最好的计划,这让我感到莫大的安慰。关键词是他最好的计划,而不是我们的,所以它需要很大的信心、信任和降服,但同时要知道我们是在一位爱我们的善良上帝的手中。

:阿门!他真的知道他对我们的计划。信靠和顺服祂是每一个基督徒的旅程。

总的来说,特别是我自己,我最大的收获是没有“一刀切”的药方,这真的是一段需要走和发现的旅程。用帕克·帕默的话来说,我们的召唤是要被接受的礼物。

与年轻人建立精神友谊

: 让我们谈谈您作为青年牧师的角色。与年轻人一起工作似乎是你生活中一个非常突出的主题。是什么驱使您热衷于服务年轻人?

迈克尔:您知道吗,在 15-30 岁之间,我们的年轻人在他们的生活中经历了难以置信的转变。从青少年到成人,从结构化学校到自主学习再到工作,从依赖到经济贡献,最重要的是尝试约会,找到一个生活伴侣并安定下来。这是一个令人恐惧、动荡不安,但同时又令人惊奇的激动人心的时期。我和我的妻子相信,我们的角色是在他们生命的关键阶段成为他们的导师。如前所述,我希望在我年轻时有一位导师来帮助我度过人生中的一些挣扎。

: 你通常如何服侍他们?主要是通过你的教导,还是通过你与他们的关系?

迈克尔:我会说这主要是通过我们与他们的关系——吃饭!我们喜欢邀请他们到我们的地方吃饭聊天。教学固然重要,但没有关系的教学只能是信息传递。古老的格言虽然陈词滥调,但却是真实的:“人们不在乎你知道多少,直到他们知道你有多在乎。”

迈克尔和他的青年事工,学习在 COVID 期间以不同的方式做事——通过 洛黑 人民币集会分散在许多房屋中。

: 如此真实。这也是你在摄政时期的灵感吗?当您了解到并体验到拥有精神友谊是什么感觉时?

迈克尔: 是的。属灵友谊不像门徒训练计划或属灵辅导。你没有带着既定的议程进来。这种关系是为了它自己。当年轻人觉得他们可以信任你时,当他们在生活方向上需要帮助时,他们就会向你敞开心扉。这是我们努力遵守的原则。我们称之为“100 小时 30 秒”原则。这意味着我们必须愿意花费 100 小时(或更多!)来建立这种关系,在他们真正向我们寻求帮助的那 30 秒内,在他们生活的关键转折点。多年后,当年轻人告诉我我与他们分享的一些事情让他们走上了一条特定的道路时,我非常感动;有时我什至不记得那次谈话!

: 哇。投入的时间很多。但我敢肯定,当你怀着爱这样做时,就像培育一座花园,让友谊之花绽放。难怪我在你的 Facebook 动态上看到这么多你和他们一起吃饭的照片!

教学固然重要,但没有关系的教学只能是信息传递。古老的格言虽然陈词滥调,但却是真实的:“人们不在乎你知道什么,直到他们知道你有多在乎。”

给年轻人的财富和召唤建议

: 在你与新加坡年轻人的互动中,在寻找他们的使命时,有哪些共同的主题/问题?

迈克尔: 实际上,他们中的一些人会问我关于财富的问题。 “基督徒可以富有吗?”

: 你的答案是什么?

迈克尔:我会告诉他们,“是的,上帝在圣经时代用财富和财务手段祝福了几个人。更大的问题是,如果上帝在一夜之间夺走你的一切,如果他说,“不再需要它了”,你能接受吗?

: 确切地!这是我们是否被我们的财产所占有的问题。

迈克尔:财富不在于所有权,而在于管理权。如果我们认识到我们所有的财富都来自上帝,作为资源赐给我们供我们管理,那么我们就不会把希望和安全感寄托在财富上。

: 当你在银行工作后去丽晶对你来说容易吗?

迈克尔: 老实说,一开始我确实很纠结。尽管我的收入很高,但总觉得收入永远不够。只有当我慢慢学会理解管家的真正本质时,我才能将我生命的这方面交托给上帝。有时这仍然是一场斗争,尤其是在富裕和昂贵的新加坡,但我们会通过练习变得更好。

:我在 30 多岁时也曾因财务不安全而苦苦挣扎。

迈克尔: 这是新加坡人的普遍斗争。财富的增长伴随着我们随处可见的所有这些财富的象征——巨大的平房、昂贵的汽车……它会让我们认为我们应该有权拥有这些东西。当我们意识到我们只是所有这些财富的管家时,我们就会学会轻视它们,而不是让它们控制我们。

财富不在于所有权,而在于管理……当我们意识到自己只是所有这些财富的管家时,我们就会学会轻视它们,而不是让它们控制我们。

:那么,在开始职业生涯时,您通常会给应届毕业生(ITE、理工学院、大学)一些步骤或建议吗?

迈克尔:根据我们上面关于呼召和职业的讨论,我对任何正在寻找呼召的应届毕业生的最佳建议是:

  1. 你的呼召远不止你的工作或职业,它是你是谁的根源。我们的工作只是表达这些呼唤的工具。 那是什么意思?有些人可能不是传统意义上的传教士,但显然被召唤到宣教工场;他或她可能是护士、商人、外交官,但非常清楚地意识到要在他们所在的地方分享福音。相反,教会中有些牧师可能没有牧师的呼召,并发现自己很难适应人们对他们的期望,包括照顾人、管理教会等,而他们可能更适合作为 IT 工程师编写代码,这些代码将祝福全世界数百万人。
  2. 从这个角度来看,作为一名新毕业生,你遇到的每一份工作都是一个很好的试验台/实验室,你可以尝试看看这是否适合你的职业表达。 我们经常徘徊或偶然发现我们呼召的一些表达方式,我们从来没有在最疯狂的梦想中想象过会适合我们……但他们不知何故,靠着上帝的恩典。
  3. 因此,重要的是要认识到 就像我们寻找我们的召唤一样,我们的召唤也会寻找我们。 这是通过在独处(在与上帝和圣经安静的时刻)中辨别,并在社区中通过向亲密的朋友、领导和可信赖的家人(最重要的是你的配偶)寻求明智的建议来确认的。

每一份工作,尤其是作为一名应届毕业生,都是一种可能性,也是您寻找电话的潜在答案。即使它没有实现该功能,您也可能会在此过程中建立友谊,这将使您在发现您的使命的旅程中处于有利地位。当你发现你的呼召时,你也会深刻地发现你是谁,以及上帝是如何创造你的。

享受旅程,尤其是上帝将向你展示的启示。可能 诗篇 119 在踏上这段旅程时,对你来说是真实的。

: 这个太好了!非常感谢您的建议中的深刻见解!它肯定来自多年的经验和反思以及与主同行。

每一份工作,尤其是作为一名应届毕业生,都是一种可能性,也是你寻找召唤的潜在答案……当你发现你的召唤时,你也会深刻地发现你是谁,以及上帝是如何创造你的。

推荐书籍

:最后,在寻找您的使命时,您是否有强烈推荐的书籍或资源?

迈克尔: 是的!这里有一些非常好的书,你可以看看:

: 很好的建议!我自己读过其中的一些。他们确实塑造了我对上帝呼召上帝全体子民的看法。

迈克尔,很荣幸能与您就所有与召唤相关的事情进行对话。您真是一位有见地的老师和兄弟。我从我们的聊天中得到了很多收获!非常感谢您抽出宝贵时间与我们分享您的生活!

迈克尔: 别提了,这也是我的荣幸。

如果您有兴趣参加 BGST 提供的 Michael Low 的“MM101 职业、工作和事工”课程,请查看 这里.

这是一篇关于 EmbraceOurCalling.com.查看 其他采访 并从他们如何以他们的职业、他们的事工、他们的关系和他们的时间服侍上帝而受到启发!

你也许也喜欢…

2 回复

  1. 伟大的采访马库斯!一个很好的提醒,找到我们的电话是一个过程和旅程,而不是目的地🙂

发表回复

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

zh_CN简体中文

本网站使用 cookie 来确保您在我们的网站上获得最佳体验。

Michael Low on Calling, Wealth, and Ministering to Young Adults

ปฏิทิน

25/11/2021

ข้อความ

2

25/11/2021

2

Conversation with Michael Low

This week I had a valuable conversation with Michael Low, who started his career as a lawyer, then a banker, and later went to Bible school at Regent College (one of my dreams!).

We met in a class when he came back with his wife 3 years ago. Since then, he has taken up a role as Advancement Consultant with reSource Leadership International, leveraging upon his experience and networks to help communicate and grow the vision of building Christian leaders all over the world. He is also serving as youth and young adult pastor in his church, as well as a BGST adjunct lecturer, and a trainer.

You can read more about his story in an earlier interview by Salt and Light here.

Michael’s area of expertise and passion is in helping people (especially young adults) find their calling. In this conversation, I hope to learn more about his insights about calling, wealth, and ministering to young adults.

Me: Thank you for your time, Michael! There is so much to learn from you about finding our calling in life. I am curious: How does this process of finding your calling looks like for you?

Michael: Glad to chat with you, Marcus. I’m still very much on the journey of finding my calling, and perhaps my biggest takeaway thus far is that finding our calling is a process and journey, not a destination.

Me: Amen to that! May I know which industries have you ventured into before? What do you see as your current vocation now?

Michael: I have been a lawyer and a banker before I went away to Regent. Since coming back, I now have 4 part time roles: youth and young adult pastor, fundraiser, lecturer, and trainer. What do I consider my vocation? Helping people to find or be effective at theirs.

Early Working Life: Searching for Integration

Me: That is so important for many of us today. So Michael, in your interview with Salt & Light, you shared about how you once felt you were leading a double life as a young lawyer. Care to elaborate more for our readers here?

Michael: Certainly. I was working in a high-stress, toxic work environment then. Many of my colleagues were smoking and using filthy language, and I sort of blended in. If you had seen me in the office, it’d be difficult to imagine that anyone would know I was a Christian.

But on Sunday, I’ll be a different person. I was a worship leader in the church, and we would also open our house for cell group gatherings on Friday nights, although both of us were so busy with work that we were seldom around! At most I was early enough to say goodbye when they are leaving. Deep inside, I knew something was not quite right.

Me: That must have been a difficult experience, to feel that you are leading two distinct lives.

Michael: Yes. It’s like a lack of integration, between our faith and our work. I saw them as clearly separate areas of my life, and at some level, without realising it, felt quite keenly the discomfort of the dichotomy.

Me: The sacred-secular divide. In hindsight, how do you think you could have handled the struggles better? What kind of advice would you give your younger self?

Michael: That’s a good one. I would say this: build spiritual friendships. Have the space to share authentic struggles at work, in life, at home, with friends who are with you in your spiritual journey.

Me: Were you able to find this kind of ‘safe space’ to discuss your work struggle in the church?

Michael: That’s the thing… I’d never know because I didn’t try asking. I guess at that time we didn’t have the culture to discuss this kind of thing. We seldom talk deeply about our work lives in church. We did not have a deep, robust theology of work to process some of these real-life issues. So I might have thought, it’s up to me to figure it out. And because I was not able to manage it, I decided to leave the practice (in a sense, running away). In hindsight, that was a time I really needed spiritual friends or a mentor to walk through the issues with me.

Michael’s best friends at Regent College are some of their closest spiritual friends who saw them through their ups and downs.

Me: Thanks for your honesty. After you left legal practice, your next stint as a professional trustee was a happier place. Care to share more about it?

Michael: Sure. I worked 15 years as a professional trustee in different banks. I was better able to handle the stress. Part of the reason was that my wife and I learned to protect our marriage by protecting our time. Previously, we used to work very long hours. Learning to find a better work-life balance helped give some margin to our lives.

Me: I could see that you are a very people-oriented person. What role does personality play in influencing your process of discerning your call?

Michael: Yes, I do love to work with people. In fact, working as a litigation lawyer allows me to meet people from a broad spectrum of society too. But I guess the nature of litigation work is such that, the relationship is more transactional. Whereas as a trustee at the bank, I can build a longer-term relationship with the clients.

Me: Yes. That is certainly a place you can flourish in!

Michael: True. I am also a problem-solver. So in a sense, my tendency to problem-solve and to work with people comes together, both in my work as a lawyer and as a professional trustee. The main difference is that people who came to a lawyer were already in a problem, while people working with the bank and the trustee are pre-empting the problem. I also enjoy variety, and every case is different – whether in the courtroom or in the bank – giving a fresh challenge each time.

Build spiritual friendships. Have the space to share authentic struggles at work, in life, at home, with friends who are with you in your spiritual journey.

Finding Congruence in Faith and Work: The Road to Regent College

Me: So, what makes you decide to go to Regent College?

Michael: Even as I was very happy in my job, I couldn’t make the connection between my work and my Christian faith. I’m looking after money for rich people, but how does this help serve the Kingdom of God? Does God actually care about what I do in my 9 to 5?

It was through a book, The Other Six Days: Vocation, Work and Ministry in Biblical Perspective, by Paul Stevens, that I began to learn about the theology of work. That piqued my interest to go deeper and learn about how God designed work to be good in itself. This led me to apply to study marketplace theology at Regent College.

Me: What was your key takeaway from Regent with regard to your calling?

Michael: My biggest takeaway about calling in general and my own in particular was that there is no “one size fits all” prescription and that it is really a journey to be walked and discovered. In Parker Palmer’s words, our callings are gifts to be received.

That really was my experience, which came most vividly in one class I did with Paul Stevens, where we spent 10 weeks visiting people in their places of work. We visited a whole range of people, from a helicopter maintenance engineer (former missionary), a family that had owned and ran one of Vancouver’s oldest egg packing plants, the owner of one of Vancouver’s best spas, a not-for-profit program coordinator, as well as one of Vancouver’s best-known shoe designers and manufacturers, and also the owner of one of Vancouver’s up and coming coffee chains, and many others. My biggest revelation was that God met them along each of their journeys, and they were all very clear about their calling when we met them, but they also shared that it had been a challenging, complex, and at times difficult journey to understand, and embrace, their calling.

Michael with Professor Paul Stevens, whom he described as one “who made a huge impact in my life and faith journey, teaching me to integrate faith and work, and to serve God wherever we find ourselves planted.”

It was a great comfort to me to know that each of our journeys is OURS, and that God would lead and guide us along our own journeys, with HIS best plans for us. Keyword being HIS best plans, and not ours, so it required a large element of faith, trust, and surrender, but all the while knowing that we are in the hands of a good God who loves us.

Me: Amen! Truly He knows the plans He has for us. Trusting and obeying Him is the journey of every Christian.

My biggest takeaway about calling in general and my own in particular was that there is no “one size fits all” prescription, and that it is really a journey to be walked and discovered. In Parker Palmer’s words, our callings are gifts to be received.

Building Spiritual Friendships with Young Adults

Me: Let’s talk about your role as a Young Adult Pastor. Working with young adults seems to be a very prominent theme in your life. What drives your passion for ministering to young adults?

Michael: Did you know that between the ages of 15-30, our young people go through an incredible number of transitions in their life. Going from an adolescent to an adult, from structured school to self-directed learning to work, from dependent to economically contributing, and on top of that trying to date, find a life partner and settle down. It’s a frightening, tumultuous, but yet also amazingly exciting period. My wife and I believe that our role is to be mentors in that critical stage of their life. As mentioned, I wish I had a mentor when I was a young adult to help me navigate some of my struggles in life.

Me: How do you usually minister to them? Is it primarily through your teaching, or through your relationship with them?

Michael: I would say it is primarily through our relationship with them – over meals! We love to invite them to our place to talk over meals. Teaching is important, but teaching without relationship can be merely information transfer. The old adage, though cliche, is true: ‘people don’t care how much you know until they know how much you care.’

Michael and his Youth and Young Adult ministry, learning to do things differently during COVID – by having a lohei CNY gathering decentralised across many houses.

Me: So true. And this is also inspired by your time at Regent? When you learned and experienced what it is like to have spiritual friendships?

Michael: Yes. Spiritual friendship is not like a discipleship program or spiritual counseling. You don’t come in with a set agenda. The relationship is for its own sake. And when the young adults feel that they can trust you, they will open up to you when they need help with their life direction. It’s a principle we try to live by. We call this the ‘100 hours for 30 seconds’ principle. It means we must be willing to spend 100 hours (or more!) in building that relationship, for that 30 seconds that they actually ask us for help, at the critical inflection points of their life. I am so touched when young adults tell me years later about something I shared with them that set them down a certain path; sometimes I don’t even remember that conversation!

Me: Wow. That is a lot of time put in. But I’m sure that when you do so with love, it is like cultivating a garden where the flowers of friendship can blossom. No wonder I see so many photos of your meals with them on your Facebook feeds!

Teaching is important, but teaching without relationship can be merely information transfer. The old adage, though cliche, is true: ‘people don’t care what you know until they know how much you care.’

Advice for Young Adults on Wealth and Calling

Me: In your interactions with young adults in Singapore, what are the common themes / questions when it comes to finding their calling?

Michael: Actually, some of them would ask me about wealth. “Is it okay for Christians to be rich?”

Me: And what’s your answer?

Michael: I would tell them, “Yes, God has blessed several people in biblical times with wealth and financial means. The bigger question is, if God takes away everything from you overnight, if He says, “don’t need it anymore”, are you okay with it?”

Me: Exactly! It is the question of whether we are possessed by our possessions.

Michael: Wealth is not about ownership, but stewardship. If we recognise that all our wealth comes from God, given to us as resources to be stewarded, then we won’t put our hope and security in wealth.

Me: Was it easy for you when you have up your job at the bank to go to Regent?

Michael: To be honest, I did struggle with it at first. Even though I was earning a high income, there’s always the sense that it is never enough. It was only as I slowly learnt to understand the true nature of stewardship that I was able to entrust this aspect of my life to God. It is still a struggle at times, especially in affluent and expensive Singapore, but we get better with practice.

Me: I had my struggles with financial insecurity during my 30’s as well.

Michael: It is a common Singaporean struggle. The growing affluence comes with all these symbols of wealth that we see flaunted all over the place – huge bungalows, expensive cars… it can sweep us into thinking that we should be entitled to these things. When we realise that we are but stewards of all this wealth, we learn to hold them lightly, and not let them have a hold on us.

Wealth is not about ownership, but stewardship… When we realise that we are but stewards of all this wealth, we learn to hold them lightly, and not let them have a hold on us.

Me: So, what are some steps or advice you would commonly give a fresh graduate (ITE, polytechnic, university) when it comes to starting out in their vocation?

Michael: Based on what we discussed above about calling and vocation, my best advice to any fresh graduate searching for their calling is:

  1. Your calling is far more than your job or occupation, it is the root of who you are. Our jobs are merely vehicles for the expression of those callings. What do I mean by that? Someone may be clearly called to the mission field without being a missionary in the traditional sense; he or she may be a nurse, businessperson, diplomat, but with the very clear sense of sharing the gospel where they are. Conversely, there are pastors in church who may not have a pastoral calling and find themselves struggling to fit into the expectations placed upon them in caring for people, managing a church etc, when they might be far better suited as IT engineers writing code that will bless millions of people around the world.
  2. In that light, as a new graduate, every job that comes your way is a great test bed/lab to try out and see if this suits the expression of your calling. We often wander or stumble into some expressions of our calling that we, never in our wildest dreams, would imagine would suit us…but they somehow, by the grace of God work out.
  3. It is therefore important to recognise that much as we seek out our callings, our callings will also seek us out. This is done by discerning in solitude (in quiet moments with God and Scripture), and confirming in community, by seeking wise counsel from close friends, leaders and trusted family (and most importantly your spouse).

Every job, especially as a fresh graduate, is a possibility and a potential answer to your search for calling. And even if it doesn’t fulfill that function, you are likely to build friendships along the way that will stand you in good stead in that journey of discovering your calling. And as you discover your calling, you will also discover deeply who you are, and how God has made you.

Enjoy the journey, especially the revelations that God will show you. May Psalm 119 be true for you as embark on this journey.

Me: This is so good! Really appreciate the depth of insight in your advice! It sure comes with many years of experience and reflection and walking with the Lord.

Every job, especially as a fresh graduate, is a possibility and a potential answer to your search for calling… And as you discover your calling, you will also discover deeply who you are, and how God has made you.

Recommended Books

Me: In closing, are there any books or resources you strongly recommend when it comes to finding your calling?

Michael: Yes! Here are some really good books you can check out:

Me: Great recommendations! I have read some of them myself. They have really shaped my view of God’s calling for the whole people of God.

It is truly an honor to have this conversation with you on all things related to calling, Michael. You are such an insightful teacher and brother. I have so much takeaway from our chat! Thank you so much for your time and for sharing your life with us!

Michael: Don’t mention it, it’s my pleasure and privilege as well.

If you are interested in taking Michael Low’s course on “MM101 Vocation, Work and Ministry” offered by BGST, check out here.

This is an Interview post on EmbraceOurCalling.com. Check out the other interviews and be inspired by how they serve God with their vocation, their ministry, their relationships, and their time!

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE…

2 Responses

  1. Great interview Marcus! A wonderful reminder that finding our calling is a process and journey, not a destination 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.