感觉倦怠?第 1 部分——我的职业倦怠故事

ปฏิทิน

02/05/2021

ข้อความ

2

02/05/2021

2

Feeling Burnout

倦怠发生在我们最好的人身上,即使我们生活在我们使命的中心。我们中的许多人在我们的职业和个人生活中都经历过几次倦怠。鉴于 VUCA(波动性、不确定性、复杂性和模糊性)世界的高度压力,这不应该让我们感到惊讶。然而,“倦怠”这个词在很多圈子里都是禁忌,因为它暗示着无能和软弱。因此,当我们真正在内心深处经历倦怠时,我们会努力度过难关并假装自己没事。

对于教师来说尤其如此。教学是一项压力很大的工作,管理一个由 30-40 名肾上腺素充沛、成长中的青少年组成的班级可不是闹着玩的,我们在上课和工作日之间几乎没有宝贵的时间来处理我们的情绪和疲惫。在这篇文章中,我想分享一些我管理生活中倦怠期的经验策略。虽然这是专门为教师而写的,但我希望我的经验也能对从事其他职业的人有所帮助。

1. 认识倦怠的症状

您是否曾经在脑海中听到过这样的声音,告诉您您不能再继续了?面对工作中不那么吸引人的部分时那种不知所措和痛苦的感觉?或者发现您以前喜欢做的事情不再对您有吸引力?这些是倦怠的一些明显迹象。

来源: 空管局

自从 2020 年 COVID-19 大流行以来,我就经历了一些倦怠的症状。我急躁、焦虑,而且永远筋疲力尽。最糟糕的是,我会在凌晨 3 点醒来,无法入睡。我会在我的 Facebook 墙上发布各种 SOS 消息,知道没有人会阅读它们,并在早上 6 点之前删除所有内容 我会因为最小的冒犯而对学生失去冷静,对他们甚至对一些同事变得非常不耐烦和易怒(你必须知道这对我来说非常不合时宜)。

事后看来,我在两个方面都筋疲力尽——教学和养育子女。但我当时看不到。在工作中,我正在应对 COVID 情况下教学给我们带来的所有变化和要求(我相信很多老师都能理解)。在家里,我的儿子在封锁两个月后很难适应回到学校。这两件事都对我造成了情感上的伤害。我仍然热爱我的工作,但我也很害怕每天来上班,因为推开痛苦面对人们需要太多的精力。

只有当我认清它的本来面目时,我的康复才开始——我已经筋疲力尽了。有 其他事宜 我正面临着,但职业倦怠是影响我职业的事情,也是我需要按照自己的方式解决的事情。

把它想象成驾驶一辆变速箱出现故障的汽车。您不会想在高速公路上驾驶它!最好识别问题并将汽车送到修理厂进行修理。这会花费一些钱,但比让你的车在路中间抛锚或更糟要少得多。

2. 认识职业倦怠的类型

并非所有的倦怠在本质上都是相同的。在播客中 面试 琳达·卡达米斯 (Linda Kardamis) Teach4theheart.com, Amber Harper 说,重要的是要确定你正在经历什么样的倦怠。倦怠有3种类型:

  • 烧毁和“超过它”– 你被消极、冷漠和沮丧所包围。
  • 燃烧和不平衡– 你变得极度不知所措,有太多事情要做,却没有足够的时间去做。
  • 燃烧和无聊– 你表面上看起来什么都没有,但实际上你在寻求挑战和改变。
图片来源:Teach4thheart,e https://teach4theheart.com/burnt-out-teacher/

你可以在以下位置找到你的倦怠类型 教师职业倦怠测验,或查看资源 烧伤老师的网站。

就个人而言,我做了测验,发现我的倦怠类型是 (2) 倦怠和不平衡——我的盘子太多了,时间太少了。我还与我的理想主义(读作:缺乏现实主义)作斗争,我总是想做的比我能做的更多,这加剧了倦怠(期望越高,跌倒就越难)。因此,有了这种意识,每当我想做新事情时,我也会停下来。

是的,你没有看错。作为一个理想主义者意味着即使我筋疲力尽,我仍然可以寻找可以让我摆脱困境的“更多东西”。这使倦怠变得更糟。稍后会详细介绍。

3. 将倦怠视为成长的机会

在我上面提到的播客的早期,Amber Harper 说,“倦怠实际上给了我们一个机会,让我们在生活中做出我们需要的改变。”好点子。我想补充一点,倦怠有助于我们了解自己。不是我们试图投射给他人的角色,而是我们灵魂的真实状态。它向我们展示了我们的诱因和弱点在哪里,并指出了我们最需要成长的地方。

倦怠实际上给了我们一个机会,让我们在生活中做出我们需要的改变。

– 琥珀哈珀

对我来说,我与倦怠的长期斗争实际上暴露了我说“不”和划定人格界限的问题。这源于我的不安全感,以及——如果我能深入挖掘的话——我对重要性和认可的渴望。一直说“是”,这让我觉得我被需要,我很重要。这种无休止的求证循环,居然成了我的偶像。重要的感觉成为我继续前进的一种方式,即使我已经筋疲力尽。

这一切一点都不健康。事实上,这在属灵上是危险的,因为我没有把安全感建立在上帝和他对我的爱上,而是建立在我能为别人做些什么上。它很快成为倦怠灾难的良方。

以赛亚书 30:15 说出了我灵魂中那种焦虑、寻求认可的状态:

“悔改和安息是你的拯救,
安静和信任是你的力量,
但你什么也得不到。 (以赛亚书 30:15)

倦怠通常是更大问题的征兆。通过拥抱悔改和安息、安静和信任,我正在学习重新调整我的眼睛,仰望主,以获得我渴望的安全和意义。 倦怠让我有机会成长,学习在主里找到安息.

但在主里得安息是什么意思呢?圣经中关于安息的观念与我们现代人的理解有何不同?

你的倦怠故事是什么?

我将在我的博客中分享更多关于自我保健的迷思,以及我对真正休息的了解 第二个帖子 在这个系列中。现在,我想听听你的意见。你有倦怠的故事要分享吗?承认自己精疲力尽对您来说是不是很困难?你是如何应对的?在下面发表评论!


这篇文章是我专栏的一部分 感召执教,主要讨论了教学作为一种使命的乐趣和挑战。请随时查看我关于教学和其他专业相关主题的其他博客文章。

更新: 自从写这篇文章以来,我反思了我的经历并写了一篇 专门针对教师倦怠的文章和 5 种预防方法.一探究竟!

标签:

喜欢它?与您的朋友分享!

你也许也喜欢…

2 回复

  1. 谢谢嫂子光临! 😀

    是的,这段从倦怠中恢复过来的时期是一段富有洞察力的自我发现之旅。尽管这种自我发现——至少对我来说——不仅需要了解我的优点,还需要了解我的缺点和“阴暗面”。正是在面对我的阴影时,上帝的光才能照进来。

    自我保健固然重要,但我的经验是,我最初认为的自我保健实际上只是一个创可贴。我打算写下一篇文章。

    哈哈,很好地观察了我们这里的 Moks。我现在最常用的应用程序是“Overdrive”(好吧,这很蹩脚),这无济于事。

  2. 重要的是要确定适当的界限并更多地了解自己,这样您也可以确保自我照顾。 😉 加油马库斯兄弟!

    嫁给了另一个莫克,我认为你们兄弟有付出太多以至于超速驾驶的倾向。

    🙂

发表回复

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

zh_CN简体中文

本网站使用 cookie 来确保您在我们的网站上获得最佳体验。

Feeling Burnout? Part 1 – My Burnout Story

ปฏิทิน

02/05/2021

ข้อความ

2

02/05/2021

2

Feeling Burnout

Burnout happens to the best of us, even when we are living at the center of our calling. Many of us experience burnout episodes several times in our professional and personal lives. Given the high level of stress in a VUCA (volatility, uncertainty, complexity, and ambiguity) world, this should not surprise us. However, the word ‘burnout’ is taboo in many circles since it suggests incompetence and weakness. As such, we push ourselves through the grind and pretend we are okay when really we are experiencing burnout at a deep level on the inside.

This can be especially true for teachers. Teaching is a highly stressful job, managing a class of 30-40 adrenaline-charged, growing adolescents is no joke, and we have precious little time in between lessons and workdays to process our emotions and exhaustion. In this post, I want to share some of my strategies from my experience in managing the burnout episodes in my life. While this is specifically written for teachers, I hope my experiences can help those of you working in other professions as well.

1. Recognise the Symptoms of Burnout

Ever experienced this voice in your head telling you that you can’t go on another day? That feeling of overwhelmed and pained from facing the not-so-appealing parts of your work? Or find that what you used to enjoy doing are not longer appealing to you? These are some of the telltale signs of burnout.

Source: ATC

I was going through some of these symptoms of burnout, way back since the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020. I was edgy, anxious, and perpetually exhausted. At my worst, I would wake up at 3 a.m. and could not sleep. I would post all kinds of S.O.S. messages on my Facebook wall, knowing that nobody would read them, and delete everything before 6 a.m. I would lose my cool at students for the smallest affront and became extremely impatient and irritable with them and even with some coworkers (you must know that this is very out-of-character for me).

In hindsight, I was burnt out on two fronts – teaching, and parenting. But I couldn’t see it at that time. At work, I was coping with all the changes and demands that teaching in the COVID situation had placed on us (which I am sure many teachers can empathise with). At home, my son had a difficult time adjusting back to school after two months of lockdown. Both of these took an emotional toll on me. I still loved my job, but I was also dreading coming to work every day as it took so much energy to push aside the pain and face the people.

My recovery begins only when I recognised it for what it is – I was burnt out. There were other issues I was facing, but burnout is something that affected me professionally, and something I need to address on its own terms.

Think of it as driving a car with a gearbox that is failing. You won’t want to drive it on the expressway! It is better to recognise the problem and send the car to a workshop to get it fixed. That will cost some money, but far less than having your car break down in the middle of the road, or worse.

2. Recognise the Types of Burnout

Not all burnouts are the same in nature. In a podcast interview by Linda Kardamis on Teach4theheart.com, Amber Harper said that it is important to identify what kind of burnout you’re experiencing. There are 3 types of burnout:

  • Burned and “Over It”– You are surrounded by negativity, apathy, and frustration.
  • Burned and Unbalanced– You have become extremely overwhelmed with too much to do and not enough time to do it.
  • Burned and Bored– You look like you have it all together on the outside, but you’re actually seeking a challenge and a change.
Photo credit: Teach4thheart, ehttps://teach4theheart.com/burnt-out-teacher/

You can find out your burnout type at the Teacher Burnout Quiz, or check out the resources at Burned In Teacher’s website.

Personally, I did the quiz and found out that my burnout type was (2) Burned and Unbalanced – there was just too much on my plate and too little time to do it. I also struggled with my idealism (read: lack of realism) that always want to do more than I could, and that worsened the burnout (the higher the expectation, the harder the fall). Hence, having this awareness also gives me pause whenever I want to pick up new things to do.

Yes, you read that right. Being an idealist means that even when I’m burnt out, I can still be looking out for that ‘something more’ that can get me out of this fix. And that made the burnout worse. More on this later.

3. Recognise the burnout as an opportunity to grow

Early in the podcast I mentioned above, Amber Harper said that, “Burnout actually gives us an opportunity to make the changes we need to in our lives.” Good point. I would add that burnout helps us to learn about ourselves. Not the personas that we try to project to others, but the real state of our souls. It shows us where our triggers and weaknesses are, and points us to where we most need to grow.

Burnout actually gives us an opportunity to make the changes we need to in our lives.

– Amber Harper

For me, my long struggle with burnout actually surfaces my problem with saying ‘no’ and drawing personality boundaries. That stems from my insecurity and – if I could dig deeper – my yearning for significance and approval. By saying ‘yes’ all the time, it makes me feel that I am needed, that I am important. This endless loop of approval-seeking actually became my idol. The feeling of being important becomes a way for me to keep going, even though I was burning out.

All this is not healthy at all. In fact, it is spiritually dangerous, because I did not base my security in God and His love for me, and instead base it on what I can do for others. It soon became a recipe for burnout disaster.

Isaiah 30:15 speaks into that anxious, approval-seeking state of my soul:

“In repentance and rest is your salvation,
in quietness and trust is your strength,
but you would have none of it. (Isaiah 30:15)

Burnout is often a symptom of a bigger problem. By embracing repentance and rest, quietness and trust, I am learning to reorient my eye to look to the Lord for the security and significance I crave. Burnout gives me the opportunity to grow in learning to find rest in the Lord.

But what does it mean to find rest in the Lord? How is the biblical idea of rest different from our modern-day understanding?

What is your burnout story?

I will share more on the myths of self-care, and what I learn about true rest, in my second post in this series. For now, I want to hear from you. Do you have a burnout story to share? Was it difficult for you to even admit that you are burnt out? How are you coping with it? Drop a comment below!


This post is part of my column on Called to Teach, which primarily discusses the joys and challenges of teaching as a calling. Feel free to check out my other blog posts on teaching and other professional-related topics.

Update: Since writing this post, I have reflected on my experiences and written an article specifically on Teacher Burnout and 5 ways to prevent it. Check it out!

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE…

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for dropping by, sis-in-law! 😀

    Yes, this period of recovery from my burnout has been an insightful journey of self-discovery. Although that self discovery – for me at least – entails not only knowing my strengths but my weaknesses and ‘dark side’ as well. It is in facing my shadows that God’s light can shine in.

    Self-care is definitely important, but my experience is that what I initially thought was self-care actually was just a band-aid. I plan to write on this next post.

    Haha, good observation about we Moks here. Doesn’t help that my most frequently used app now is ‘Overdrive’ (ok that’s lame).

  2. Important to identify proper boundaries and get to know yourself more so that you can ensure self care too. 😉 jiayous bro Marcus!

    Married to the other Mok, i think you bros have the tendency to give so much that you overdrive yourself.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

;var xextraCategory = document.querySelectorAll(".second-button a:nth-child(3)")[0]; if (typeof extraCategory == 'undefined') { document.getElementById("multiCat").className += " newclass"; } else { document.getElementById("singleCat").className += " newclass"; };