深入了解呼召:职业心理学

ปฏิทิน

05/07/2021

ข้อความ

0

05/07/2021

0

自从我上次写关于打电话的博客以来已经有一段时间了。我一直在读 Bryan Dik 和 Ryan Duffy 合着的这本书, 让你的工作成为一种使命.这是一本关于职业心理学(也称为职业咨询)的书,其中包含大量关于人们如何看待职业(即召唤)和工作的研究。不用说,这让我非常兴奋 =D 那么让我们深入挖掘本书中的一些精华吧!

呼召的意义

Dik 和 Duffy 向他们的受访者询问了这 3 个问题,以了解他们对打电话的看法(您也可以尝试回答他们!):

  1. 当它适用于你的职业时,你如何定义“召唤”这个词?
  2. 具体来说,将您的职业作为一种使命对您意味着什么?
  3. “呼召”一词是否适用于工作以外的生活领域?请解释。

根据他们的结果,他们将他们的发现分为两大类:

1. 新古典主义的呼召观

新古典主义的召唤来自 外部的 来源并强调 社会的 责任。它说, “我被我以外的某事或某人强迫或吸引去做这类工作,我会用它来帮助别人。”

新古典主义的呼召观是 经典的呼召观,具有宗教根源,由新教改革者发展而来。经典观点认为 上帝呼召人们通过他们发现自己所做的任何工作来侍奉他和服务他人,并装备他们所需的恩赐,使他们能够做得很好.

2. 现代呼召观

现代呼唤来自 之内 并强调 个人幸福.它说, “我对某种职业有着内在的动力,这将使我最快乐。” 这是一种更世俗的观点,与自我实现的主题有关。这也被认为是当今的普遍观点(尽管作者会有所不同)。

图片来自 RAEng_出版物皮克斯

在这两种观点之间,新古典主义观点是本书所倾向的观点。 “呼唤”作为一个词有其字面和历史根源,作者努力保留这些根源。我和他们一起做这件事。

Dik 和 Duffy 也有他们自己对呼叫的定义,这与我的不同但值得在这里看看。做好准备——这听起来很学术:

在形式上,我们将呼召定义为“一种超然的召唤,体验为超越自我,以一种旨在展示或获得目的感或意义感的方式来接近特定的生活角色,并将以他人为导向的价值观和目标作为主要来源动机”

– 迪克和达菲, 让你的工作成为一种使命

值得庆幸的是,他们帮助将其分解为 3 个组成部分:

超越的召唤

第一个维度反映了这样一种信念,即呼唤意味着呼唤者。 (我也持相同观点)。从历史上看,来电者通常被理解为上帝,尽管它也可能来自其他来源,例如人们在社会中看到的需要,来自命运或命运,或家庭遗产。例如,有些人可能看到有关自然灾害和人类苦难的报道,非常感动,以至于放下手头的一切,去帮助那些需要帮助的人。

工作的目的和意义

第二个维度侧重于工作和生活中的目的感和意义感。一个电话可能涉及 推导 一种使命感。例如,一位糕点师可能会因为看着别人享用她用自己的烹饪才能制作的甜点而感到纯粹的快乐。

呼叫也可能涉及该人 示范 一种使命感,例如当一名汽车修理工发现他在事故发生后修理汽车的工作是帮助愤怒、不便的司机继续他们的生活的切实方式。

图片来自 瑞安麦奎尔皮克斯

有使命感的人会发现他们的工作符合他们的使命感和意义。这给了他们生活的稳定性和连贯性。

他人导向的动机

第三个维度强调工作应该支持他人的福祉,以及一般的共同利益。有些人会直接而切实地帮助他人(例如教师、社会工作者和医生)。其他人间接地这样做,但仍然很重要。我们使用的每一种产品和服务都必须由某人制造或提供。当我们有使命感时,我们就会明白我们的工作如何为共同利益做出贡献,以及我们如何发挥作用。

我的外卖

呼唤是做我们擅长的事情、我们喜欢做的事情以及世界需要我们做的事情的交集。

在我的 第一篇文章 关于打电话,我把它定义为“ 做我们擅长的事情、我们喜欢做的事情以及世界需要我们做的事情的交集”在阅读了 Dik 和 Duffy 的书的这一部分之后,我发现我正试图将新古典主义观点(世界需要什么)和现代观点(我们喜欢做什么/擅长什么)结合起来——但没有意识到!拥有这种意识有助于加强我自己对呼召更好的理解:我认为呼召最终是关于自我实现(类似于现代观点),还是关于响应上帝的呼召帮助他人(又名新古典主义观点)?因此,我将更有意地将自己置于后一个阵营。

我还发现 Dik 和 Duffy 的这些见解很有启发性:

首先,召唤不是一劳永逸地发现的东西。这是一个持续的过程。 将工作视为一种使命涉及选择职业道路,但它并不止于此。事实上,它从那里开始!选择职业是持续反思和积极塑造工作的生活方式的切入点,其方式是使个人的目标感与工作活动保持一致。所有这些,目的是为他人带来改变。即使我们没有找到理想的职业,我们仍然可以精心设计或重新设计我们的工作(这一过程被称为工作塑造),并将其转化为实现我们使命的工具。

其次,每个人都可能有一个使命。 即使在我们的经济中有许多人可能为满足基本的生存需求而苦苦挣扎,但这并不妨碍他们实现自己的使命。事实上,困难的存在实际上可以成为找到自己使命的催化剂。此外,暗示一个人必须拥有一定程度的特权才能体验有意义的工作是一种微妙的偏见(例如,假设只有白领工作才能被视为一种使命)。

最后,任何诚实和合法的工作领域都可能是一种使命,即使它似乎并没有以任何明显的方式促进共同利益。 呼召与一个人的实际工作关系不大,而与那个人如何处理这份工作有关。人们也可以在所谓的低声望或高重复性工作(如行政助理、看门人、厨房员工)中体验到深度呼召。

图片来自 免费照片皮克斯

这是我对本书第一章的总结。我将写下我们为什么工作以及工作作为工作/职业/使命之间的区别——再次从本书中汲取见解。一定要留意它。


这篇文章出现在一系列与召唤相关的基础文章中。您可能想查看其他相关帖子 这里.

标签:

喜欢它?与您的朋友分享!

你也许也喜欢…

发表回复

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

zh_CN简体中文

本网站使用 cookie 来确保您在我们的网站上获得最佳体验。

Diving Deeper into Calling: the Psychology of Vocation

ปฏิทิน

05/07/2021

ข้อความ

0

05/07/2021

0

It has been a while since I last blogged about calling. I had been reading this book by Bryan Dik and Ryan Duffy, Make Your Job a Calling. It is a book on vocational psychology (also known as career counseling), and contains a lot of research about how people think about vocation (i.e. calling) and work. Needless to say, that got me really excited =D So let’s dive in and unearth some of the gems in this book!

The Meaning of Calling

Dik and Duffy asked their respondents these 3 questions to find out what they thought about calling (you can try answering them too!):

  1. As it applies to your career, how do you define the word “calling”?
  2. What, specifically, does it mean for you to approach your career as a calling?
  3. Does the word “calling” apply to areas of your life other than work? Please explain.

From their results, they sorted their findings into 2 broad categories:

1. Neoclassical view of calling

Neoclassical callings come from an external source and emphasize a social duty. It says, “I am compelled or drawn to do this type of work by something or someone outside of myself, and I will use it to help others.”

The neoclassical view of calling is an extension of the classical view of calling, which has religious roots and was developed by the Protestant Reformers. The classical view taught that God calls people to serve Him and to serve others, through whatever work they find themselves doing, and equips them with the gifts they need to do so well.

2. Modern view of calling

Modern callings come from within and emphasize individual happiness. It says, “I have an inner drive toward a certain career that will make me the happiest.” This is a more secular view and is related to the theme of self-actualization. It is also thought to be the common view today (although the authors would differ).

Image by RAEng_Publications from Pixabay

Between these 2 views, the neoclassical view is the one that the book leans towards. ‘Calling’ as a word has its literal and historic roots, which the authors endeavor to preserve. I’m with them on this one.

Dik and Duffy also have their own definition of calling, which differs from mine but worth looking at here. Be prepared – it’ll sound very academic:

Formally, we define calling as “a transcendent summons, experienced as originating beyond the self, to approach a particular life role in a manner oriented toward demonstrating or deriving a sense of purpose or meaningfulness and that holds other-oriented values and goals as primary sources of motivation”

– Dik and Duffy, Make Your Job a Calling

Thankfully, they have helpfully broken it down into its 3 component parts:

A Transcendent Summons

This first dimension reflects the belief that a calling implies a caller. (I held to the same view as well). Historically, the caller has usually been understood to be God, although it can also come from other sources, such as a need that people see in society, from destiny or fate, or a family legacy. For example, some people may be so moved by watching reports of natural calamities and human suffering, that they put down everything they are doing and go to help those in need.

Purpose and Meaning in Work

This second dimension focuses on a sense of purpose and meaning in work and also in life. A calling may involve deriving a sense of purpose. For example, a pastry chef may derive sheer joy from watching others enjoy the desserts she made with her culinary talents.

A calling may also involve the person demonstrating a sense of purpose, such as when a car mechanic finds his work of fixing cars after an accident as a tangible way of helping angry, inconvenienced drivers get on with their lives.

Image by Ryan McGuire from Pixabay

People who have a sense of calling finds that their work aligns with their sense of purpose and meaning. This gives stability and coherence in their lives.

Other-oriented Motives

This third dimension highlights that work should support the well-being of others, and the common good in general. Some people help others directly and tangibly (such as teachers, social workers, and doctors). Others do so indirectly, but nevertheless significantly. Every product and service we use has to be made or provided by someone. When we have a sense of calling, we understand how our work contributes to the common good, and how we are making a difference.

My Takeaways

Calling is the intersection of doing what we are good at, what we love doing, and what the world needs from us.

In my first post about calling, I defined it as “the intersection of doing what we are good at, what we love doing, and what the world needs from us.” After reading this section of Dik and Duffy’s book, I observed that I was trying to marry the neoclassical view (what the world needs) and the modern view (what we love doing/are good at) – without realizing it! Having this awareness helps accentuates my own understanding of calling better: do I see calling as ultimately about self-actualization (akin to the modern view), or is it about responding to God’s call to help others (a.k.a. the neoclassical view)? I will therefore place myself more intentionally in the latter camp.

I also find these insights by Dik and Duffy enlightening:

Firstly, a calling is not a thing to be discovered once and for all. It is an ongoing process. Approaching work as a calling involves choosing a career path, but it doesn’t stop there. In fact, it starts there! Choosing a career is an entry point to a lifestyle of ongoing reflection and active shaping of one’s job, in ways that align one’s sense of purpose with one’s activities in work. All these, with the goal of making a difference for others. Even if we had not landed in our ideal career, we can nevertheless craft or reframe our work (a process known as job crafting), and transform it into a vehicle for living out our calling.

Secondly, every person potentially has a calling. Even if there are many people who may struggle with basic survival needs in our economy, this does not preclude them from realizing their calling. In fact, the presence of hardship can actually be a catalyst for finding one’s calling. Furthermore, it is a subtle prejudice to suggest that one must have a certain level of privilege in order to experience meaningful work (e.g. assuming that only white-collared work can be considered a calling).

Finally, any honest and legitimate area of work can potentially be a calling, even if it doesn’t appear to enhance the common good in any obvious way. A calling has little to do with a person’s actual job, and everything to do with how that person approaches that job. People can also experience a deep of calling in so-called low-prestige or highly repetitive jobs (such as administrative assistants, janitors, kitchen employees) as well.

Image by Free-Photos from Pixabay

This rounds up my summary of the first chapter of the book. I will be writing about why we work and the distinction between work as a job/career/calling – again, drawing insights from this book. Be sure to look out for it.


This post appears in a series of Foundational Posts related to calling. You may want to check out other related posts here.

TAGS:

Like it? Share it with your friends!

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

;var xextraCategory = document.querySelectorAll(".second-button a:nth-child(3)")[0]; if (typeof extraCategory == 'undefined') { document.getElementById("multiCat").className += " newclass"; } else { document.getElementById("singleCat").className += " newclass"; };