揭穿关于召唤的 3 个谬论

ปฏิทิน

09/02/2023

ข้อความ

0

09/02/2023

0

Debunking 3 Myths About Calling Featured Image

找到你的呼召可能是一段复杂而令人困惑的旅程,有许多神话可能会让你偏离发现上帝真正呼召你成为什么样的人和去哪里做的事情。问题是,许多这些误解在我们心中根深蒂固,以至于我们可能没有意识到!在这篇博文中,我们将打破三个关于打电话的常见误区,这些误区可能会阻碍你发现你的真正目的。通过揭穿这些迷思,我们希望能够更清楚地了解召唤的真正含义以及如何找到它。

神话#1。您的使命 = 您理想的工作或事业

神话:

许多人认为我们的使命是他们理想的工作或职业,是我们的技能、兴趣和激情的完美结合。 (是的,我可能无意中通过建议 4A 的框架给了错误的印象.但那是在我们次要呼召的背景下。稍后会详细介绍)。

现实:

虽然充实的职业当然可以成为我们使命的一部分,但这并不是唯一的方面。 A 关于召唤 不仅仅是一份工作或事业,它涵盖了生活的方方面面,而不仅仅是工作。

作为基督徒,我们的 基本的 呼召是对上帝的呼召,而不是对特定的工作或职业。上帝首先呼召我们归向他自己,认识他并体验与他的个人关系。他还使我们每个人都拥有独特的设计,并将其带给世界。我们的 次要的 召唤(或召唤)是我们被召唤在特定时间和地点履行的特定角色。

为什么重要:

当我们将次要职业(我们心目中的工作或职业)作为主要职业时,我们就有可能将其作为我们的偶像。 偶像是任何取代上帝的崇拜对象。通过将我们的工作或事业视为我们的主要召唤,我们试图从中获得只有上帝才能提供的意义和成就感。

这个神话甚至可能引导我们崇拜 野心,和它的近亲, 工作狂.职业主义是指当你如此专注于使你的事业取得成功时,你却忽视了你生活的其他方面(例如你的个人生活、道德等)。工作狂是“不间断工作的强迫或无法控制的需要”。 (1971 年由部长兼心理学家 Wayne Oates 创造)。顺便说一下, 工作狂是导致倦怠的主要原因之一.

confused businessman checking time on wristwatch
照片由 Andrea Piacquadio 于 Pexels 网站

人们很容易陷入这样一种想法,即您的使命必须是您梦想的工作或理想的职业,但事实并非如此。 你的次要呼召是在此时此地做任何上帝要你做的事. 你现在从事的工作,你正在追求的学习课程,你正在建立的家庭,你正在服务的教会……这是你的 当前的 打电话的地方。

“我们问,在这个时候和这个地方,我们被召唤成为和做什么?”

保罗史蒂文斯, 你此时此地的呼唤:理解职业

如果神要带你到一个新的呼召之地,他会告诉你的。 (这将是另一天的话题。)

所以,如果你因为没有找到理想的工作或理想的职业而感到沮丧或沮丧,请记住你的使命不仅仅是一份工作或事业。睁大眼睛看上帝呼召你成为什么样的人,并做你现在所在的地方。

神话#2。你的使命=你最热衷的事

神话:

您是否收到过“追随您的热情”之类的职业建议?许多人认为我们的使命是我们最热衷的事情,这是我们天生擅长的事情,它给我们带来最大的快乐。

man using brown and black electric guitar while singing
照片由 Thibault Trillet 摄 Pexels 网站

现实:

这个神话充其量只是半真半假。虽然我们的热情和天赋可以成为我们使命的一部分,但情况并非总是如此。仅仅因为您对某事充满热情,并不意味着这是您的使命。同样,仅仅因为你擅长某事,并不意味着这就是你的使命。

区分您的热情和使命很重要。你的激情是你喜欢做的事情,它会给你带来快乐,但你的使命是一种更深层次的使命感,它涵盖了生活的方方面面(见上文)。您的热情可能会影响您的使命,但它们并不是唯一的方面。你的使命也可能涉及努力工作、牺牲和为他人服务,即使这不是你最喜欢做的事情。

为什么重要:

追求激情作为我们的使命——即使这是我们的次要使命——是 糟糕的职业建议.它也是自恋的,因为它把注意力放在我们自己身上(“我最感兴趣的是什么?”),而不是世界需要我们做什么(“我在哪里可以产生最大的影响或贡献?”)。

如果只向内看以辨别我们的呼召,我们就会陷入让我们的呼召完全围绕着自己的陷阱。 这是另一种形式的工作偶像崇拜。

因此,如果您不确定自己的热情是否是您的使命,请退后一步,评估一下真正带给您成就感和使命感的是什么。它只是做你喜欢做的事情的行为,还是它对他人和世界的影响?

神呼召你去的地方,就是你深深的喜乐和世界深深的饥渴相遇的地方。

– 弗雷德里克布希纳

神话#3。你一生只有一个呼召

神话:

许多人认为,我们一生只有一个使命,一旦找到,就必须永远坚持下去。这种信念可能会限制并阻止我们探索新的机会和经验。它还假定我们的呼唤是“在那里”,如果我们错过了它,我们将终生无法实现。

现实:

实际上,我们的呼召是一段随着时间的推移而演变和发展的旅程,并且在我们的一生中可能会有多个呼召。我们的呼召不仅仅是一个静态的目的地,而是一个充满活力和不断发展的旅程。随着我们的成长、改变和体验新事物,我们的观点、技能和热情也会发生变化。我们的使命可能会随着我们的发展而变化,重要的是要对可能带来新见解和观点的新机会和经验持开放态度。

woman standing on cliff
照片由 Nina Uhlikova 于 Pexels 网站

在整本圣经中,我们看到有信仰的男男女女首先被呼召认识神,然后在特定的时间和地点跟随他进入特定的呼召。想想亚伯拉罕:他首先被召唤离开他的祖国,前往上帝将向他展示的土地(创世记 12:1-3)。几十年来,随着亚伯拉罕在信仰和对神的经历上的进步,神对他的特殊呼召逐渐显现。或者大卫:在他被召唤为王之前,他首先是一名牧羊人,然后是扫罗军队中的一名战士。即使大卫王经历了他使命的不同阶段,从统一他的王国到带回约柜,从平息与儿子押沙龙的内战到为他的继承人所罗门留下遗产。

在他们的一生中,我们可能会看到一个宏大的总体主题,但我们呼召的具体细节却年复一年、日复一日、时时刻刻上演。

为什么重要:

布赖恩桑德斯在他的书中, 召唤的 6 个季节:在人生的每个阶段发现你的目的, 提出我们的呼召是持续和动态的。因为我们的呼召植根于我们与上帝的关系以及我们对他声音的感知,所以它不是静态的或一次性的体验。

Brian Saunders, The 6 Seasons of Calling: Discovering Your Purpose in Each Stage of Life
布赖恩·桑德斯, 召唤的 6 个季节:在人生的每个阶段发现你的目的.封面。
Brian Saunders, The 6 Seasons of Calling: Discovering Your Purpose in Each Stage of Life
封底。

虽然我们的呼召不会不断转移和改变,但随着我们的生活展开,我们可以追踪 6 个基本季节:

  • 童年——亲密的季节
  • 青春期——学习的季节
  • 早期职业生涯——服务的季节
  • 职业中期——创造的季节
  • 职业生涯晚期——奉献的季节
  • 过渡——离开的季节

我发现这个概念非常有趣和自由。一方面,它帮助我看到我现在的通话季节可能与之前的季节截然不同。在我职业生涯的中期(通常是 36-48 岁),我通过创造一些对我被呼召成为的人有意义的东西来表达那个创造的季节。无论是建立教会青年事工,还是在工作中建立健康的教师文化,甚至是建立这个网站,这一季的核心主题都是创造。

然而总有一天,我会转变为做一些完全不同的事情,给予、授权和指导他人去做他们自己无法想象的事情。

通过了解呼唤按季节到来,我们不会执着于正确呼唤,也不会因为自己不在呼唤的中心而感到沮丧。

请记住,您一生中可能会接到多个电话。不要害怕走出你的舒适区,探索新的机会和体验。

结论

总之,找到你的使命是一段独特的个人旅程,需要自我反省、探索和挑战社会规范的意愿。通过揭穿关于你的召唤是你的理想工作的神话,完全基于激情,或仅限于一件事,你可以打开新的可能性和机会,让上帝向你展示他真正呼召你成为和做的人和地点。

请记住,您的电话是一个持续的过程,开始寻找它永远不会太晚。保持开放的心态,拥抱变化,不断追求自我发现。以积极的态度和以成长为导向的心态,您可以找到自己的使命,过上充满目标和成就感的生活。

4 Steps to Crafting Your Perfect Personal Vision Statement by Marcus Mok Free eBook Download

只需 4 步即可制作您完美的个人愿景陈述!

无论您是想改善您的职业、人际关系还是整体幸福感,我们的免费 制定完美个人愿景声明的 4 个步骤 将帮助您:

  • 只需 4 个简单步骤,即可打造真正属于您自己的个人愿景陈述
  • 通过了解您的目标、价值观和人生目的,获得清晰度和方向
  • 根据您的目标、优势和技能做出更好的决定
  • …还有很多!

标签:

喜欢它?与您的朋友分享!

你也许也喜欢…

发表回复

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

zh_CN简体中文

本网站使用 cookie 来确保您在我们的网站上获得最佳体验。

Debunking 3 Myths About Calling

ปฏิทิน

09/02/2023

ข้อความ

0

09/02/2023

0

Debunking 3 Myths About Calling Featured Image

Finding your calling can be a complex and confusing journey, and there are many myths that might derail you from discovering who and where God is truly calling you to be and do. The thing is, many of these misconceptions are so ingrained in us that we may not realize it! In this blog post, we’re going to bust three common myths about calling that might be holding you back from discovering your true purpose. By debunking these myths, we hope to provide a clearer understanding of what a calling really means and how to find it.

Myth #1. Your calling = your ideal job or career

The Myth:

Many people believe that our calling is their ideal job or career, and that it is the perfect match between our skills, interests, and passions. (Yes, I may have inadvertently given the wrong impression by suggesting the 4 A’s framework. But that was in the context of our secondary calling. More on that later).

The Reality:

While a fulfilling career can certainly be a part of our calling, it is not the only aspect. A calling is much more than just a job or career, and it encompasses all aspects of life, not just work.

As Christians, our primary calling is to God, not to a particular job or career. God calls us first to Himself, to know Him and experience a personal relationship with Him. He also made each of us with a unique design that we bring into the world. Our secondary calling (or callings) is the particular role that we are called to fulfill at a particular time and place.

Why It Matters:

When we make our secondary calling (that job or career we have in mind) our primary calling, we risk making it our idol. An idol is any object of worship that takes the place of God. By viewing our job or career as our main calling, we are attempting to derive our sense of significance and fulfillment from it that only God can provide.

This myth may even lead us to worship the gods of careerism, and its close cousin, workaholism. Careerism is when you are so devoted to making your career a success that you neglect other aspects of your life (such as your personal life, ethics etc.). Workaholism is “the compulsion or the uncontrollable need to work incessantly”. (coined in 1971 by minister and psychologist Wayne Oates). And by the way, workaholism is one of the key contributors to burnout.

confused businessman checking time on wristwatch
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio on Pexels.com

It’s easy to get caught up in the idea that your calling has to be your dream job or ideal career, but this is simply not true. Your secondary calling(s) is to be and do whatever God intends you to in the here and now. The job you now hold, the course of study you are pursuing, the family you are building, the church you are serving… this is your current place of calling.

“We ask, at this time and in this place, who and what are we called to be and do?”

Paul Stevens, Your Calling Here and Now: Making Sense of Vocation

If God wants to bring you to a new place of calling, He will make it clear to you. (That’ll be a topic for another day.)

So, if you’re feeling discouraged or frustrated because you haven’t found your dream job or ideal career, remember that your calling is much more than just a job or career. Keep your eyes open to what God is calling you to be and do where you are right now.

Myth #2. Your calling = what you are most passionate about

The Myth:

Have you received career advice like, “Follow Your Passion”? Many people believe that our calling is what we are most passionate about, that it is the thing that we are naturally gifted at and that brings us the most joy.

man using brown and black electric guitar while singing
Photo by Thibault Trillet on Pexels.com

The Reality:

This myth is at best a half-truth. While our passions and gifts can be a part of our calling, it’s not always the case. Just because you are passionate about something, doesn’t mean it’s your calling. Similarly, just because you are good at something, doesn’t mean it’s your calling either.

It’s important to distinguish between your passions and your calling. Your passions are things that you enjoy doing and that bring you happiness, but your calling is a deeper sense of purpose that encompasses all aspects of life (see above). Your passions may play a role in your calling, but they are not the only aspect. Your calling may also involve hard work, sacrifice, and serving others, even if it’s not your favorite thing to do.

Why It Matters:

Pursuing passion as our calling – even if it’s our secondary calling – is bad career advice. It is also narcissistic, as it puts the focus on ourselves (“what interest me most?”) rather than on what the world needs from us (“where can I make the greatest impact or contribution?”).

By only looking inward to discern our calling, we fall into the trap of making our calling all about ourselves. This is another form of idolatry of work.

So, if you’re feeling unsure about whether your passions are your calling, take a step back and evaluate what truly brings you fulfillment and a sense of purpose. Is it just the act of doing something you enjoy, or is it the impact that it has on others and the world?

The place God calls you to is the place where your deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet.

– Frederick Buechner

Myth #3. You have only one calling throughout your life

The Myth:

Many people believe that we have only one calling throughout our entire life, and that once we find it, we must stick with it forever. This belief can be limiting and prevent us from exploring new opportunities and experiences. It also assumes that our calling is ‘out there’, and if we miss it, we will be unfulfilled for life.

The Reality:

In reality, our calling is a journey that evolves and develops over time, and it’s possible to have multiple callings throughout our lives. Our calling is not just a static destination, but rather a dynamic and ever-evolving journey. As we grow, change, and experience new things, our perspectives, skills, and passions also change. Our calling may evolve and change with us, and it’s important to be open to new opportunities and experiences that may bring new insights and perspectives.

woman standing on cliff
Photo by Nina Uhlikova on Pexels.com

Throughout the Bible, we see men and women of faith who are first called to know God, and then to follow Him into a particular calling at a particular time and place. Consider Abraham: he was first called to leave his country and go to a land God will show him (Genesis 12:1-3). God’s specific calling for him unfolded over the decades as Abraham progressed in his faith and experience of God. Or David: before he was called to be king, he was first a shepherd, then a warrior in Saul’s army. Even as king David experienced different phases of his calling, from unifying his kingdom to bringing back the ark, from quelling the civil war with his son Absalom to leaving a legacy for his heir, Solomon.

In all their lives we may see a big overarching theme, but the specifics of our calling are played out year by year, day by day, moment by moment.

Why It Matters:

Brian Saunders, in his book, The 6 Seasons of Calling: Discovering Your Purpose in Each Stage of Life, proposed that our calling is something ongoing and dynamic. Because our calling is rooted in our relationship with God and our perception of His voice, it isn’t a static or one-time experience.

Brian Saunders, The 6 Seasons of Calling: Discovering Your Purpose in Each Stage of Life
Brian Saunders, The 6 Seasons of Calling: Discovering Your Purpose in Each Stage of Life. Front cover.
Brian Saunders, The 6 Seasons of Calling: Discovering Your Purpose in Each Stage of Life
Back cover.

While our calling doesn’t constantly shift and change, we can trace 6 basic seasons as our life unfolds:

  • Childhood – the season of bonding
  • Adolescence – the season of learning
  • Early Career – the season of serving
  • Mid-Career – the season of creating
  • Late Career – the season of giving
  • Transition – the season of leaving

I find this concept very interesting and liberating. For one, it helps me to see that my season of calling now could be very different from the previous one. In my mid-career (typically 36-48 years old), I express that season of creating by making something of significance to who I am called to be. Whether it is building the church youth ministry, or building a healthy teacher culture at work, or even in building this website, the core theme of this season is creating.

Yet someday, I will transition into doing something entirely different, to give and empower and mentor others to do something they could not have imagined for themselves.

By understanding that calling comes in seasons, we do not get fixated on getting that one calling right, or feeling frustrated that we are not at the center of our calling.

Remember, it’s possible to have multiple callings throughout your life. Don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone and explore new opportunities and experiences.

Conclusion

In conclusion, finding your calling is a unique and personal journey that requires self-reflection, exploration, and a willingness to challenge societal norms. By debunking the myths about your calling being your ideal job, solely based on passion, or limited to one thing, you can open up to new possibilities and opportunities for God to show you who and where He is truly calling you to be and do.

Remember that your calling is an ongoing process and it is never too late to start searching for it. Keep an open mind, embrace change, and always continue to pursue self-discovery. With a positive outlook and a growth-oriented mindset, you can find your calling and lead a life filled with purpose and fulfillment.

4 Steps to Crafting Your Perfect Personal Vision Statement by Marcus Mok Free eBook Download

Craft your PERFECT Personal Vision Statement in just 4 steps!

Whether you’re seeking to improve your career, relationships, or overall well-being, our FREE 4 Steps to Crafting Your Perfect Personal Vision Statement will help you to:

  • Craft a Personal Vision Statement that is truly your own in 4 simple steps
  • Gain clarity and direction by understanding your goals, values and purpose in life
  • Make better decisions that match your goals, strengths and skills
  • …and many more!

TAGS:

Like it? Share it with your friends!

en_USEnglish

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.