书评:乔纳森·马莱西奇 (Jonathan Malesic) 的《倦怠的终结》

ปฏิทิน

08/11/2022

ข้อความ

0

08/11/2022

0

Book Review The End of Burnout by Jonathan Malesic

是否真的有可能结束倦怠文化?无论如何,我们是如何解决这个问题的?有没有更好的方法来建立我们的生活和我们与工作的关系?这些是 Jonathan Malesic 在他的书中试图回答的问题, 倦怠的终结:为什么工作会让我们筋疲力尽以及如何过上更好的生活.

我在做研究的时候偶然发现了这本书 教师倦怠。有很多事情让我与作者产生了共鸣,他在从事他梦想的终身教授工作时经历了神圣的倦怠经历。和作者一样,我曾经梦想成为一名学者,教授聪明的学生并参与激发智力的讨论。读到他的倦怠经历让我意识到我也可能像他一样最终幻想破灭。

因此,我决定深入挖掘并研究他必须分享的一些见解。

倦怠的终结摘要

什么是倦怠?

马莱西克将倦怠定义为“工作中在期望与现实之间拉扯的体验”。他用一个人踩高跷的比喻。一个支柱是我们的工作理想,另一个支柱是我们工作的现实。而这两根高跷正在彼此远离。

马莱西克认为,明确定义职业倦怠非常重要。马莱西克在他的“每个人都精疲力尽,但没有人知道这意味着什么”一章中发现,由于研究人员依赖于不同的倦怠定义和衡量标准,他们得出了截然不同的结果。

马莱西克的大部分关于职业倦怠的研究都以克里斯蒂娜·马斯拉赫(Christina Maslach)的研究为基础。马斯拉奇创造了 马斯拉克倦怠量表(MBI),最广泛使用的测量工作倦怠的工具。 MBI 将倦怠评估为 3 个不同维度的连续体:

  • 情绪疲惫(或 筋疲力尽),
  • 人格解体(或 玩世不恭), 和
  • 个人成就下降(或 专业效率降低)

我们通常认为倦怠是精疲力尽,但以非个性化方式对待病人的医务人员,以及感觉自己工作无能的老师也可能表现出倦怠的迹象。

将倦怠视为一个频谱,而不仅仅是二进制术语

许多研究倾向于用二元术语来表达倦怠。你要么“精疲力尽”,要么“忙碌”,要么“健康”,要么“不健康”。但在 Maslach 的 MBI 中,倦怠有一个范围。根据我们受到倦怠的三个维度(疲惫、人格解体、个人成就感下降)影响的程度,我们的倦怠体验会有所不同。一个人可能会在不同的时间落入或超出该范围。

根据 Maslech 的 MBI 的 5 种职业倦怠概况。来源: 心灵花园

马莱西克在他的“倦怠谱”一章中讨论了这 5 种不同的倦怠状况,但添加了他自己的观点:

  • 没有倦怠:理想与现实的高度契合。踩着高跷,行走毫不费劲。
  • 过度扩张:疲惫不堪,尽管现实相反,仍坚持工作理想
  • 愤世嫉俗的:放弃我们的理想并屈服于妥协的现实。将他人视为不完整的人。
  • 沮丧的:在坚持理想的同时忽视或反抗现实。感觉无效率和无价值。
  • 烧坏: 理想与现实都放下了。感觉疲惫而空虚。

当我们知道自己处于哪种情况时,我们就可以找到正确的治疗方法来帮助我们康复。例如,如果工人工作过度,那么雇主可以减少他们的工作量,使他们免受进一步的压力。如果员工感到沮丧和效率低下,那么管理他们工作的复杂性或提供更好的培训可以使他们摆脱困境。

为什么倦怠文化在今天如此盛行?

马莱西克认为,倦怠文化深深植根于我们的信念,即工作“不仅是获得薪水的手段,也是获得尊严、品格和使命感的手段”。 倦怠文化之所以持续存在,是因为我们珍视这些工作理想。我们害怕失去工作所承诺的意义。

马莱西克也分享了自己的经历。作为一名疲惫不堪的终身大学教授,马莱西克可以证明这不仅仅是因为就业条件恶劣。我们不能仅仅通过全面提高工资、福利和安全来消除这种现象。工作条件只说明了一半。

相反,马莱西克认为倦怠确实是“灵魂的疾病”。

“我们之所以精疲力竭,很大程度上是因为我们相信工作是通向社会、道德和精神繁荣的必由之路。工作根本无法提供我们想要的东西,我们的理想与工作现实之间的差距导致我们疲惫不堪、愤世嫉俗和绝望。”

——乔纳森·马莱西克

本书的目的

马莱西克的书旨在“帮助我们的文化认识到工作并不能让我们尊严、塑造我们的性格或赋予我们生活的目的。我们尊重工作,我们塑造它的性格,我们赋予它在我们生活中的意义。”

我们尊重工作,塑造它的性格,并赋予它在我们生活中的意义。

——乔纳森·马莱西克

马莱西克相信,一旦我们意识到这一点,我们就可以减少对工作的投入,改善我们的工作条件,并重视那些不为报酬而工作的人。只要我们齐心协力,我们就能终结倦怠文化,并以不依赖工作的方式蓬勃发展。

此外,我们的个人主义工作方式使我们无法谈论倦怠或团结一致来改善我们的条件。当工作没有达到我们的期望时,我们会责备自己。

这就是为什么马莱西克认为治疗倦怠的方法必须是 文化 集体。我们必须向彼此提供我们的工作所没有的同情和尊重。

我的主要收获

马莱西克的书分为两部分:倦怠文化' 和 '反主流文化'。在这篇评论中,我将主要关注第一部分。第二部分包含许多示例,说明某些团体和组织(例如本笃会僧侣社区)如何以展示马莱西克愿景的方式开展工作。然而,这些群体是边缘群体,而且数量很少。我发现这些例子很鼓舞人心,但我们必须在我们所处的地方创建能够模仿这些理想的社区。

首先我来分享一下我喜欢这本书的地方。

1.分享个人经历

正如前面提到的,作者借鉴了他自己的职业倦怠经历。它向读者传达的信息是:“我知道——我去过那里。”

年轻时,马莱西克将教授的生活理想化,与聪明的学生坐在一起,进行激发智力的讨论,进行有意义的研究。但经过几十年的努力并最终实现了自己的目标,马莱西克却对现实感到幻灭。

学生抄袭他们的论文。课堂讨论平淡无奇,他得到的不是热切的目光,而是茫然的目光。直到他再也无法把自己拖进教室为止。再多的自我照顾、静修或休假也无法治愈他疲惫不堪的灵魂。

作为一名教育工作者,我对此深有感触。我也能理解他在神学和灵性方面的背景。虽然靠着上帝的恩典我还没有跨过彻底精疲力竭的地步,但我已经很接近了 2020.

他从职业倦怠经历中获得的一些见解对我很有帮助。例如,学会放弃工作完美主义,承认自己的局限性。我还了解到过于关注自己的工作和表现的危险。

2. 彻底分析职业倦怠的原因和“历史”

在撰写本文时,倦怠已成为一个流行词。然而每个人对其真正含义都有不同的看法。如果我们使用 烧完 作为同义词 筋疲力尽的, 排干, 或者 幻灭的,我们错过了每个人的倦怠经历可能感受到的细微差别。

读到这篇文章让我怀疑我是否像我之前提到的倦怠那样粗心大意。 文章。我职业生涯中的每次停工是否都被视为倦怠期?如果由于过分强调体验而导致我忽视了它怎么办?

马莱西克在记录倦怠的“历史”方面也非常细致。他关于“职业倦怠:第一个 2000 年”的章节无疑是对我们对职业倦怠的理解在数千年来如何演变的最彻底的论述之一。虽然“倦怠”在过去 50 年里是一个新词,但历史上人们对这种经历有不同的描述:忧郁症、绝望症和神经衰弱。但由于技术和我们不断增长的工作需求,它现在已经成为我们这一代人的标志。

可以改进的地方:

1. 作者对加尔文主义和新教职业道德做了相当全面的概括。

论劳动圣人和劳动烈士

马莱西克断言,约翰·加尔文的预定论(无条件选举一些人得救)间接导致了现代工人的焦虑。在加尔文主义神学中,虽然善行不能为你赢得救恩,但它们可以成为拣选的标志。要知道你当选与否,你需要审视你的工作或行为:它对社会繁荣有贡献吗?由于上帝还命定人们从事不同的“召唤”,以执行他对人类的旨意, 在你的使命中富有成效是确保你当选的一种方式。

这与倦怠有何关系?嗯,Malesic 声称它让我们 焦虑的 向我们的潜在雇主和我们自己证明,我们是某种“工作圣人'。 “就像神圣的选举一样,这种地位是一种抽象的条件,我们无法将其分配给自己,但我们希望其他人会认识到我们拥有它,从而让我们继续就业。”

这种对工作的焦虑也导致了马莱西克所说的“工作殉难'。工作烈士是一个不顾自我而最大化生产力的人。他的典型例子是布克·T·华盛顿(Booker T. Washington,1856 – 1915 年),这位非裔美国领导人主张只有努力工作才能缓解受压迫社区的贫困状况。虽然“努力工作总会得到应有的回报”的理念是崇高的,但华盛顿却把它教给了社会永远不会兑现这一承诺的学生。

布克·T·华盛顿(Booker T. Washington,1856 – 1915 年)是一位非裔美国领导人,他主张只有努力工作才能缓解受压迫社区的贫困状况。他是马莱西克失败的“工作烈士”的典型例子。

等等,这是卡尔文的错吗?

真的是约翰·加尔文的工作神学提升了工作水平并促成了倦怠文化吗?我对这个说法有疑问。马莱西克对这个主题的处理相当轻蔑,并且没有表现出对加尔文工作神学的足够关注。他在引言中总结了他的主张,

“我们在后工业时代推行的新教伦理帮助当今最担心倦怠的国家创造了巨额财富。但它也宣扬了一种破坏性的理想,那就是工作到殉难的地步。为了克服倦怠,我们必须摆脱这种理想,并就工作如何融入美好生活建立新的共同愿景。这一愿景将取代旧的、不可信的职业道德承诺。”

乔纳森·马莱西克

哇,严厉的言论。作为一个亚洲人和一个有加尔文主义倾向的基督徒,我不得不在一些方面不同意。

首先,最担心职业倦怠的国家不仅是后工业化的西方国家。中国、日本和新加坡等亚洲国家也受到影响。人们也可以将这种现象归咎于儒家理想,但这有什么好处呢?

其次,那些希望通过工作和生产力“证明自己”的人根本不理解恩典的教义。这实际上是我们堕落的人性寻求为自己辩护,通过我们所做的工作证明我们的价值。不是加尔文主义。

2. 马莱西克的解决方案不足以“取消”倦怠文化

那么,在说了“为什么工作会让我们筋疲力尽”(他做得很好)之后,马莱西克的最终建议是什么,以帮助我们“建设更好的生活”,正如他的副标题所暗示的那样?我认为这就是马莱西克的不足之处。

一个新的前提

不过,他的尝试开始得很好。马莱西克认为,为了建立美好生活的新模式,我们首先需要挖掘更深的基础。它挑战了工作是尊严之源这一基本前提。因为,“在一个将工作视为证明自身价值的手段的社会中,他们会更加努力地工作,从而使自己面临劳动带来的身心风险,包括倦怠。”

相反,马莱西克向我们指出了一份题为“尊严”的文件。 新事物,由教皇利奥十三世于 1891 年出版。利奥的观点是 在劳动方面,人的尊严,而不是工作的尊严,才是最高原则。

90年后 新事物,约翰·保罗我写的 劳动练习,其中他确认 工作才有尊严,因为人类有尊严。因为每个人都是按照上帝形象创造的,“决定人类工作价值的基础主要不是所做工作的类型,而是做这件事的人是一个人这一事实。” 工作并不能让我们尊严;工作并不能让我们尊严。我们尊重工作。

为什么前提失败了

我确实同意 100% 的这个前提——工作才有尊严,因为人们有尊严。但是,尽管它确实如此,听起来也很崇高,但相信这一观念并不能改变挑战它的世界。正如马莱西克本人所承认的那样,“围绕利奥原则组织的工作场所对于二十一世纪的美国人来说几乎是不可想象的。”雇主将像对待利润一样认真对待员工的发展。还可以加上 20 世纪的亚洲人,他们代表了全球劳动力的 60%。

考虑到如此巨大的阻力,马莱西克的宣言显得相当天真:

“我们将在社区中实现这一愿景,并通过共同的纪律来维护它,使工作保持原样。这一愿景由新旧思想共同组成,将成为一种新文化的基础,一种将倦怠抛在脑后的文化。它将使尊严变得普遍,而不取决于有偿劳动。它将把对自己和他人的同情置于生产力之上。它将证实我们在休闲而不是工作中找到了我们的最高目标。”

乔纳森·马莱西克

当我们看到每个人都拥有与生俱来的尊严时,马莱斯的理由是,我们可以主张更好的工作条件。接着就,随即, “从道德上讲,更好的工作将从单一来源层出不穷,并消除倦怠。”

pexels-photo-4968382.jpeg
摄影:Karolina Grabowska Pexels 网站

是否会有足够多的人相信这一愿景,足以改变几十年后工业化后形成的工作条件和经济结构?这个愿景能够维持下去吗?或者它会因为理想与现实之间的差距而崩溃——马莱西克用同样的比喻来描述倦怠?

我希望它能起作用。但我怀疑它会。原因是我们生活在一个充满罪恶的世界,它破坏了我们试图推动的美好事物。每一个良好的意图和每一个好的想法都有可能被腐蚀或被纳入我们所生活的这个堕落的机械化世界。这个终极乌托邦——人的尊严和休闲高于工作——只有当基督再来恢复世界时才能实现。世界。我们在安息日休息时瞥见它的美丽和良善,在此期间,我们的工作和劳动方式从十字架的角度得到了更新。但指望它在这个世界上完全实现是不现实的。

结论

乔纳森·马莱西克, 倦怠的终结:为什么工作会让我们筋疲力尽以及如何过上更好的生活

乔纳森·马莱西克 (Jonathan Malesic) 的书的副标题是“为什么工作让我们精疲力尽以及如何打造更好的生活”。在我看来,马莱西克在解释第一部分方面做得非常出色。倦怠的定义、原因和历史都有详细记录和分析。第二部分效果较差。尽管马莱西克描绘了“更好的生活”的宏伟愿景——人的尊严优先于工作、最低生活工资、用休闲取代全部工作心态——但在我看来,它太理想化了,不适合天堂的这一面。

我会向那些正在思考倦怠问题的人推荐这本书。如果你担任主管职位,或者处于有影响力的职位,阅读这本书可以增加你对员工的同情心,因为他们作为人就应该享有尊严。即使你无法改变世界或你所在城市的文化,你也可以从你所负责的组织或部门开始。

如果你是一名正在经历某种形式的倦怠(疲惫、愤世嫉俗和/或沮丧)的工人,阅读本书将帮助你意识到你对工作的信念可能是如何促成这种倦怠的。您认为工作是您的意义之源吗?你正在努力证明自己的价值吗?正如马莱西克在他的书中指出的那样,这可能会导致倦怠。或者,如果你发现你与当前工作的关系如此糟糕,以至于你无法忍受再过一天,也许阅读马莱西克的经历可能会给你勇气去换一份更合适的工作。

无论这本书可能有什么缺点(而且这些缺点很少而且相距甚远),我确实从中学到了很多东西。它以我以前从未想过的方式引发了我对职业倦怠的思考。为了您的利益,我也衷心推荐它。


希望您喜欢这篇评论!您可能还想查看我对资源的其他评论,这些资源可以帮助您实现自己的使命,并改善您的工作与生活平衡和心理健康。

除了书籍之外,我还查看以下网站和播客:

标签:

喜欢它?与您的朋友分享!

你也许也喜欢…

发表回复

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

zh_CN简体中文

本网站使用 cookie 来确保您在我们的网站上获得最佳体验。

Book Review: ‘The End of Burnout’ by Jonathan Malesic

ปฏิทิน

08/11/2022

ข้อความ

0

08/11/2022

0

Book Review The End of Burnout by Jonathan Malesic

Is it really possible to bring an end to the burnout culture? How did we end up in this fix anyway? And is there a better way to build our lives and our relationship to work? These are the questions that Jonathan Malesic seeks to answer in his book, The End of Burnout: Why Work Drains Us and How to Build Better Lives.

I chanced upon this book when I was doing my research about teacher burnout. There are many things that I resonated with the author, who went through a hallowing burnout experience while working at his dream job of being a tenured professor. Like the author, I once dreamt of working as an academic, teaching bright-minded students and engaging in intellectually stimulating discussions. Reading about his burnout experience helps me realize that I too may end up disillusioned like him.

So I decided to dig deeper and examine some of the insights he has to share.

The End of Burnout summary

What is burnout?

Malesic defines burnout as “the experience of being pulled between expectation and reality at work”. He uses a metaphor of someone walking on stilts. One stilt is our ideals for work, and the other stilt is the reality of our jobs. And these two stilts are falling away from each other.

Malesic believes that it is important to define burnout clearly. In his chapter, ‘Everyone is burned out, but no one knows what that means’, Malesic found that, because researchers rely on different definitions and measures for burnout, they produced very different results.

Malesic grounds much of his research about burnout on the work of Christina Maslach. Maslach created the Maslach Burnout Inventory (MBI), the most widely used instrument for measuring job burnout. The MBI assesses burnout as a continuum on 3 different dimensions:

  • Emotional Exhaustion (or Exhaustion),
  • Depersonalization (or Cynicism), and
  • Reduced Personal Accomplishment (or reduced Professional Efficacy)

We often think of burnout as exhaustion, but a medical worker who treats his patient in a depersonalized manner, and a teacher who feels incompetent in her job, could also be showing signs of burnout.

Thinking of Burnout as a Spectrum and not just in binary terms

Many studies tend to present burnout in binary terms. You are either ‘burned out’ or ‘engaged’, ‘healthy’ or ‘unhealthy’. But in Maslach’s MBI, there is a spectrum to burnout. Depending on the extent we are affected by each of the 3 dimensions of burnout (exhaustion, depersonalization, reduced personal accomplishment), the experience of our burnout will be different. One may fall in and out of the spectrum at different times.

5 Profiles of Burnout according to Maslech’s MBI. Source: Mindgarden

In his chapter, ‘The Burnout Spectrum’, Malesic discusses these 5 different profiles of burnout, but adds his own spin:

  • No burnout: close alignment between ideal and reality. Holding both stilts and walk without struggle.
  • Overextended: dominated by exhaustion, clinging on to work ideals in spite of contrary reality
  • Cynical: abandoning our ideals and submitting to that compromised reality. Treating others as less than complete human beings.
  • Frustrated: ignoring or rebelling against the reality while maintaining our ideals. Feeling ineffective and worthless.
  • Burned out: letting go of both ideal and reality. Feeling used up and empty.

When we know which profile we are in, we can identify the right treatment to help us in our recovery. For example, if the worker is overextended, then the employer can reduce their workload and spare them from further strain. If the worker is feeling frustrated and ineffective, then managing the complexity of their work or providing better training could lift them up from the mire.

Why is the burnout culture so prevalent today?

Malesic argues that the burnout culture is deeply rooted in our belief that work is “a means not just to a paycheck but to dignity, character, and a sense of purpose”. Burnout culture has persisted because we cherish these ideals about work. We fear losing the meaning that work promises.

Malesic also shared his own experiences. As a burned-out tenured college professor, Malesic could testify that it isn’t only about poor conditions of employment. It isn’t something we can eradicate just with better pay, benefits, and security across the board. Working conditions only tell half the story.

Rather, Malesic believes that burnout is really ‘an ailment of the soul’.

“We burn out in large part because we believe work is the sure path to social, moral, and spiritual flourishing. Work simply can’t deliver what we want from it, and the gap between our ideals and our on-the-job reality leads us to exhaustion, cynicism, and despair.”

– Jonathan Malesic

The aim of the book

Malesic’s book aims to “help our culture recognize that work doesn’t dignify us or form our character or give our lives purpose. We dignify work, we shape its character, and we give it purpose within our lives.”

We dignify work, we shape its character, and we give it purpose within our lives.

– Jonathan Malesic

Once we realize this, Malesic believes, we can devote less of ourselves to our jobs, improve our work conditions, and value those of us who do not work for pay. Together, we can end burnout culture and flourish in ways that do not depend on work.

Additionally, our individualistic approach to work keeps us from talking about burnout or uniting in solidarity to improve our conditions. We blame ourselves when work doesn’t live up to our expectations.

That’s why Malesic believes that the cure to burnout has to be cultural and collective. We have to offer each other the compassion and respect that our work does not.

My Key Takeaways

Malesic’s book is divided into two parts: ‘Burnout Culture’ and ‘Counterculture’. In this review, I will focus primarily on the first part. The second part contains many examples of how certain groups and organizations (such as a Benedictine monk community) conduct their work in a way that demonstrates Malesic’s vision. However, these groups are peripheral and few. I find these examples inspirational, but we will have to create communities that model these ideals where we are.

Let me first share what I like about the book.

1. Shares personal experience

As mentioned earlier, the author draws on his own personal experience of burnout. It communicates to the reader, “I know – I’ve been there.”

When he was young, Malesic idealized the professor’s life, sitting around with bright-minded students, engaging in intellectually stimulating discussions, doing meaningful research. But after decades of hard work and finally reaching his goals, Malesic was disillusioned by reality.

Students plagiarized their essays. Classroom discussions were flat and, instead of eager eyes, he got blank stares. Until he could not drag himself into the classroom anymore. No amount of self-care, retreats or sabbatical can heal his burnout soul.

As a fellow educator, I can relate to this very much. I can also relate to his background in theology and spirituality. Although by God’s grace I had not crossed the point of total burnt out, I was pretty close back in 2020.

Some of the insights he gained through his burnout experience are very helpful to me. For example, learning to let go of my work perfectionism, and acknowledge my own limitations. I also learn about the dangers of identifying myself too closely with my work and performance.

2. Thorough analysis of the causes and ‘history’ of burnout

At this time of writing, burnout has become a buzzword. Yet everyone has different ideas of what it really meant. If we use burnout as synonyms with exhausted, drained, or disillusioned, we miss the nuances that each person’s burnout experience may feel like.

Reading about this causes me to wonder if I had been careless in the way I referred to burnout in my earlier articles. Is every downtime in my career considered a burnout episode? What if, by over-emphasizing the experience, I end up trivializing it?

Malesic was also very meticulous in chronicling the ‘history’ of burnout. His chapter on ‘Burnout: The First 2000 Years’ is certainly one of the most thorough treatments of how our understanding of burnout has evolved over the millennia. While burnout is a new word in the last 50 years, the experience has been described in various terms throughout history: melancholia, acedia, and neurasthenia. But it has now marked our entire generation due to technology and our ever-increasing work demands.

What could be improved:

1. The author makes rather sweeping generalizations about Calvinism and the Protestant work ethic.

On Work Saints and Work Martyrs

Malesic asserted that John Calvin’s doctrine of predestination (the unconditional election of some to be saved) indirectly led to the anxiety of the modern worker. While good works, in Calvinist theology, cannot earn you salvation, they can be signs of election. To know whether you are elected or not, you need to examine your works or actions: does it contribute to a prosperous society? Since God also ordains people to different “callings” to carry out His will for humanity, being productive in your calling is one way of making sure of your election.

How is this related to burnout? Well, Malesic claims that it makes us anxious to demonstrate to our potential employers, and to ourselves, that we are some kind of ‘work saints‘. ‘Like divine election, this type of status is an abstract condition that we cannot assign to ourselves, but we hope others will recognize we have it and thereby keep us employed.’

This anxiety towards work also leads to what Malesic coined as ‘work martyrdom’. A work martyr is one who maximizes productivity without regard for the self. His prime example was Booker T. Washington (1856 – 1915), the African-American leader who advocated that only hard work can alleviate the poor conditions of his oppressed community. While the idea that ‘hard work will always earn its proper reward’ is noble, Washington taught it to students whose society was never going to honor that promise.

Booker T. Washington (1856 – 1915), was an African-American leader who advocated that only hard work can alleviate the poor conditions of his oppressed community. He is Malesic’s prime example of a failed ‘work martyr’.

Wait, was it Calvin’s fault?

Was it really John Calvin’s theology of work that elevated work and contributed to the burnout culture? I have my doubts about the statement. Malesic was rather dismissive in his treatment of the subject, and did not show sufficient engagement with Calvin’s theology of work. He sums up his claims in the introduction,

“The Protestant ethic that we carried into the postindustrial era helped create the vast wealth of the countries that are today most concerned about burnout. But it also valorized a destructive ideal of working to the point of martyrdom. To overcome burnout, we have to get rid of that ideal and create a new shared vision of how work fits into a life well lived. That vision will replace the work ethic’s old, discredited promise.”

Jonathan Malesic

Wow, harsh statement. As an Asian and a Christian with a Calvinistic bent, I have to disagree on a few counts.

Firstly, the countries most concerned about burnout are not only in the postindustrial West. China, Japan and Singapore, among other Asian countries, are also affected. One can also blame the Confucian ideals for the phenomena, but what benefit is that?

Secondly, people looking to ‘prove themselves’ through their work and productivity simply do not understand the doctrine of grace. it is really our fallen human nature that seeks to justify ourselves, to prove our worth through the work we do. Not Calvinism.

2. Malesic’s solution falls short in ‘canceling’ the burnout culture

So, after all that is said about ‘why work drains us out’ (which he did very well), what is Malesic’s final recommendation to help us ‘build better lives’, as his subtitle suggests? I think here is where Malesic falls short.

A new premise

His attempt starts off well, though. To build a new model of the good life, Malesic argues, we first need to dig a deeper foundation. One that challenges the basic premise that work is the source of dignity. Because, ‘In a society that views work as the means to prove their value, they’re going to work harder, exposing themselves to the physical and psychological risks of labor, including burnout.’

Instead, Malesic advocated for the concept of dignity by pointing us to a document titled Rerum Novarum, published by Pope Leo XIII in 1891. Leo’s point is that the dignity of the person – not the dignity of work – is the highest principle when it comes to labor.

90 years after Rerum Novarum, John Paul I wrote Laborem Exercens, in which he affirmed that work only has dignity because human beings do. Because every person is a creature made in the image of God, ‘the basis for determining the value of human work is not primarily the kind of work being done but the fact that the one who is doing it is a person.’ Work doesn’t dignify us; we dignify work.

Why the premise fails

I do agree 100% with this premise – that work only has dignity because people do. But, true as it is and noble as it sounds, believing in this notion does little to change the world that challenges it. As Malesic himself admitted, ‘A workplace organized around Leo’s principles is nearly unimaginable to twenty-first-century Americans. It would be one where employers took the flourishing of their workers as seriously as they take their profits.’ One might add twenty-first-century Asians, which represented 60% of the global workforce.

Given such a behemoth barrier of resistance, Malesic’s manifesto comes across as rather naive:

“We will realize this vision in community and preserve it through common disciplines that keep work in its place. The vision, assembled from new and old ideas alike, will be the basis of a new culture, one that leaves burnout behind. It will make dignity universal, not contingent on paid labor. It will put compassion for self and others ahead of productivity. And it will affirm that we find our highest purpose in leisure, not work.”

Jonathan Malesic

When we see each person having inherent dignity, Malesic reasons, we can argue for better working conditions. With that, “[e]thically better work will cascade from that single source and extinguish burnout.”

pexels-photo-4968382.jpeg
Photo by Karolina Grabowska on Pexels.com

Will enough people believe in this vision enough to change the working conditions and economic structure that has emerged from decades of post-industrialization? And can this vision sustain itself? Or will it collapse from the gap between the stilts of ideal versus reality – the same metaphor that Malesic uses to describe burnout?

I wish it works. But I doubt it will. The reason is that we live in a sin-filled world that undermines the good we try to push through. Every good intention and every good idea stands a chance of being corrupted or co-opted into the fallen mechanization of the world we live in. This ultimate utopia – of human dignity and leisure above work – can only be realized when Christ returns to restore the world. We catch glimpses of its beauty and goodness in our Sabbath rests, during which our approach to work and labor is renewed from the lenses of the cross. But to expect it to be fully realized in this world is not realistic.

Conclusion

Jonathan Malesic, The End of Burnout: Why Work Drains Us and How to Build Better Lives

The subtitle for Jonathan Malesic’s book is ‘Why Work Drains Us and How to Build Better Lives’. In my opinion, Malesic has done an excellent job of explaining the first part. The definition, causes, and history of burnout were well documented and analyzed. The second part is less effective. Although Malesic painted a magnificent vision of how that ‘better life’ could look like – human dignity comes before work, minimum living wages, replacing a total work mentality with leisure – it seems to me too idealistic to be fitted for this side of heaven.

I would recommend this book to those who are thinking about the problem of burnout. If you hold a supervisory position, or are in a position of influence, reading this book can increase your empathy for your workers who deserve dignity simply for being human. Even if you cannot change the culture of the world or the city you are in, you can start with the organization or the department you are in charge of.

If you are a worker who is experiencing some form of burnout (exhaustion, cynicism and/or frustration), reading this book will help you be aware of how your beliefs about work may have contributed to it. Do you see work as your source of significance? Are you working to prove your worth? That could be a recipe for burnout, as Malesic has argued in his book. Or, if you find your relationship with your current work so toxic that you cannot bear to live through another day, maybe reading Malesic’s experience may give you the courage to change to a more suitable job.

Whatever shortcomings the book may otherwise have (and these are few and far between), I have certainly learned much from it. It has provoked my thinking about burnout in ways I have not thought of before. I heartily recommend it for your benefit as well.


Hope you have enjoyed this review! You may also want to check out my other reviews of resources that help you to live your calling, and improve your work-life balance and mental health.

Other than books, I also review the following websites and podcasts:

TAGS:

Like it? Share it with your friends!

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

;var xextraCategory = document.querySelectorAll(".second-button a:nth-child(3)")[0]; if (typeof extraCategory == 'undefined') { document.getElementById("multiCat").className += " newclass"; } else { document.getElementById("singleCat").className += " newclass"; };