回到博客!为什么我们应该接受我们的呼召

ปฏิทิน

20/12/2020

ข้อความ

0

20/12/2020

0

Back to Blogging

大家好!这是我在这个网站上的第一篇博文。我从 2011 年开始就没有写博客了,所以作为第一篇文章,我希望它简单而个性化。

对于新读者,我是一名 40 岁出头的新加坡博主,他对个人成长充满热情。我刚刚创建了一个 简介 页面来分享我的背景以及我创建这个网站的原因。我之前也写过博客 这里这里 同样,所以如果您好奇(或者如果您只是感到无聊),您也可以查看这些旧博客。

“我写作是因为在阅读我所说的内容之前,我不知道自己在想什么。”

― 弗兰纳里奥康纳

我不是一个多产的作家。我是一名中文老师,英语不是我的第一语言——尽管现在我不教书的时候,英语是我大部分时间阅读和写作的语言。

我再次写博客的动力(时隔多年)实际上是在我参加了一个 面对面的网站设计课程.我正在帮助我的教会设计和更新他们的 网站 而且,在这个 12 月的学校假期里,我认为我应该让自己接受正式培训。一个人只能通过反复试验走这么远!

那门课程在我心中种下了想要再次写博客的种子。

在那之后不久,我买了一个 Udemy 博客课程.它与网络周促销期间的许多其他课程一起出现(没有猜测其他课程的奖品)。我坚持了这个,接下来我知道的是,我正在抬头 GoDaddy 网站 注册我的域名。

我的博客定位是什么?

我对我的利基市场进行了长期而艰苦的思考。我想写一些可以为世界提供一些价值的东西。但是有了互联网,太阳底下真的没有新鲜事了。或者有吗?

我想写下我与抑郁症和心理健康问题的斗争。也许通过分享我的故事,我可以鼓励那些面临类似事情的人。但我不是心理健康专家,而且我还在康复过程中。如果我复发了怎么办?

我想写一下我作为老师的工作。但是如果我写错了,侵犯了一些隐私问题或者跨越了专业界限怎么办?

我什至想写关于个人理财的文章,这是我感兴趣的领域。然后我读到 Google 的 YMYL 指南 我回避。基本上,这意味着如果我不是金融专家(我不是),我就不应该写可能影响他人财务幸福的事情。至少,我是这么理解的。

因此,我进行了自我反省,并最终确定了一个似乎与我成年相关的主题——我对个人成长的追求。回想起2001-2006年我是一个虔诚的中国研究学生,然后我在2008-2016年早期进行了神学研究,并以研究生毕业。蘸。以优异成绩获得基督教研究学位。从2012年到2015年,我沉浸在金融教育中,阅读了100多本金融书籍。然后从 2017 年开始,我开始大量阅读有关领导力和自我发展的书籍。我想我可以肯定地说我是一个狂热的读者!

写个人成长也可以让我包括上面的一些主题。克服抑郁症的过程在很大程度上是个人成长的话题。成长为一名教师也是如此。如果我愿意的话,我什至可以偶尔写一些关于个人理财的博客,因为这是一段自我理解的旅程,作为上帝给我的资源的管家。

拥抱 你的 我们的 召唤文章

我遵循了这个思路,偶然发现了“调用”的想法。召唤,或职业,来自拉丁语 声乐, to call, 意思是一个人被召去做的工作。这是一个让我很感兴趣的话题,我想很多人也很感兴趣。我们怎么知道我们正在做我们应该做的事情?亿万年来,人类一直在寻找他存在的意义。如果我将我对这种对意义的普遍追求的见解作为我送给世界的礼物,会怎样?这可能意味着什么(双关语意想不到的)!

所以我点击了“embracehiyourcalling.com”的搜索按钮,你瞧,它被占用了。实际上,有点期待。

最接近的是“embraceourcalling.com”。我在上面坐了几天。然后它在我身上成长。与其以老师的身份写作(职业风险),不如邀请我的读者一起踏上我自己的使命之旅?它不应该是独白,好像我有所有的答案(我肯定没有)。应该是对话,对话。当朋友们一起走在一条共同的道路上时,他们之间的那种谈话。

所以,我选择了“我们的”而不是“你的”,结果更好!

拥抱 我们的使命

拥抱我们的召唤应该是我们所有人的目标。我知道我的核心身份是口译员。我擅长帮助人们理解事物。这主要通过我作为教师的工作来表达,但也通过我在双语教会作为翻译的工作来表达,将中文信息翻译成英语,反之亦然。

但现实告诉我,即使找到了自己的使命,也并不意味着一切都称心如意。你可能会因为你的使命而失败,仅仅因为你是人并且你生活在人类世界中。人们即使在最适合的角色上也会犯错误。这并没有使这些角色减少他们的使命。

问题是,一个人也可以背弃自己的使命,即使他或她知道没有什么比做自己的使命更值得做的了。所以,我强烈地感觉到,“拥抱”这个词是必须的。就像一位慈爱的母亲用无条件的爱拥抱她任性的女儿一样,我坚定不移地决心全心全意地拥抱我的使命,尽管它充满了疣、荆棘、荆棘、问题和挑战等等。我认为我们都需要时不时地朝这个方向推动。

创建网站

我完全按照 Udemy 课程讲师的说明进行操作,注册了我的域以托管 SiteGround.com,并使用 WordPress.org 作为我博客的平台。我了解到两者之间存在差异 WordPress.com 和 WordPress.org,后者是自托管的,但我可以完全控制内容。这很重要,因为我打算长期这样做。我定制了我的主题,甚至选择了与课程相同的主题和设置,至少一开始是这样。

然后我输入我的 关于页面 然后是这篇文章。我点击“发布”。

其余的,正如他们所说,是历史。

更新: 来自 Digital.com 的好人分享了这个 指导 选择虚拟主机提供商。如果您正开始为您的个人品牌或业务创建博客或创建任何类型的网站,但不知道如何开始,这就是您的指南。

如果您希望我帮助您建立自己的网站,请在此处与我联系,与我预约电话:

我很乐意帮助您初始设置您的网站喝杯咖啡!

标签:

喜欢它?与您的朋友分享!

zh_CN简体中文

本网站使用 cookie 来确保您在我们的网站上获得最佳体验。

Back to Blogging! And Why We Should Embrace Our Calling

ปฏิทิน

20/12/2020

ข้อความ

0

20/12/2020

0

Back to Blogging

Hello everyone! This is my first blog post on this website. I haven’t been blogging since 2011, so as a first post I would like it simple and personal.

For new readers, I’m a Singaporean blogger in his early 40’s, who is passionate about personal growth. I’ve just created an About page to share my background and why I started this website. I’ve also previously blogged here and here too, so if you’re the curious sort (or if you’re just bored), you can look up these old blogs as well.

“I write because I don’t know what I think until I read what I say.”

― Flannery O’Connor

I am not a prolific writer. I am a Chinese language teacher, and English was not my first language – although it is the language in which I read and write most of the time nowadays when I am not teaching.

My impetus for writing a blog again (after so many years) actually started after I attended a face-to-face website design course. I was helping my church to design and update their website and, during this December school holidays, I thought I should get myself formally trained. One can only get so far with trial-and-error!

That course planted the seed in me, to want to blog again.

Shortly after that, I purchased a Udemy course on blogging. It was along with many other courses during the Cyber Week sale (no prizes for guessing what the others were). I stuck through with this one and, the next thing I know, I was looking up GoDaddy.com to register my domain.

What is my blog niche?

I thought long and hard about my niche. I wanted to write about something that can offer some value to the world. But with the internet, there is really nothing new under the sun. Or is there?

I thought of writing about my struggle with depression and mental health issues. Maybe by sharing my story, I can encourage someone out there who is facing something similar. But I am not a mental health expert, and besides, I am still in the process of recovery. What if I have a relapse?

I thought of writing about my work as a teacher. But what if I write something wrong, and infringe some privacy issues or cross professional boundaries?

I even thought of writing about personal finance, an area of interest of mine. Then I read about Google’s YMYL guidelines and I shy away. Basically, it means that if I am not an expert in finance (and I’m not), I should not be writing about things that may impact others’ financial happiness. At least, that’s how I understand it.

So I went on a soul search and finally settled on one theme that seems to connect my adult years – my pursuit of personal growth. I recalled how I was a devout student of Chinese studies from 2001-2006, then I early pursued theological studies from 2008-2016, graduating with a Grad. Dip. in Christian Studies with magna cum laude. From 2012 to 2015, I was immersed in financial education and read over 100 finance books. Then from 2017 I was profusely reading books on leadership and self-development. I guess I can safely say that I’m an avid reader!

Writing on personal growth will also allow me to include some of the above topics. The process of overcoming depression is very much a personal growth topic. So is growing as a teacher. I could even occasionally blog about personal finance if I want to, as it is a journey of self-understanding as a steward of the resources God has given me.

Embrace Your Our Calling

I followed this train of thought and stumbled upon the idea of ‘calling’. Calling, or vocation, comes from the Latin vocare, to call, and means the work a person is called to do.  This is a topic that deeply interests me and, I suspect, to many people as well. Just how do we know that we are doing what we are meant to do? Mankind has searched for the meaning of his existence for eons. What if I offer my insights on this universal quest for meaning, as my gift to the world? That might mean something (pun unintended)!

So I hit the search button for “embraceyourcalling.com” and, lo and behold, it was taken. Kinda expected that, actually.

The closest one was “embraceourcalling.com”. I sat on it for a few days. Then it grew on me. Instead of writing as a teacher (professional hazard), how about I simply invite my readers along in my own journey of identifying my calling? It should not be a monologue, as though I have all the answers (I definitely don’t). It should be a dialogue, a conversation. The kind of conversation friends hold with one another as they walk together on a common path.

So, I settle for “our” instead of “your”, and it turns out better!

Embrace Our Calling

Embracing our calling should be something we all aim for. I am aware that my core identity is that of an Interpreter. I thrive in helping people make sense of things. This is expressed primarily through my work as a teacher, but also through my work in my bilingual church as an interpreter, interpreting Chinese messages into English and vice versa.

But reality has taught me that, even if one has found his or her calling, it does not mean that everything becomes a bed of roses. You can fail at your calling, simply because you are human and you live in a human world. People make mistakes even in the roles they are most suited for. That does not make these roles any less their calling.

The problem is, one can also turn away from one’s calling, even if he or she knows that there is nothing else better worth doing than that which one is made for. Therefore, I feel strongly that the word ’embrace’ is a must. Just as a loving mother embrace her wayward daughter with unconditional love, so I forge ahead with the relentless determination to embrace my calling with all my heart, with all its warts and thorns and thistles and problems and challenges and what-not. And I figure we all need a nudge in that direction, every now and then.

Creating the website

I followed the Udemy course instructor’s instructions to the dot, signing up my domain for hosting with SiteGround.com, and using WordPress.org as the platform for my blog. I learned that there is a difference between WordPress.com and WordPress.org, and the latter is self-hosted but I have full control over the content. This is important since I intend to do this long term. I customized my theme and even select the same theme and setting as the course, at least for the start.

And I type out my About page and then this post. And I click “Publish”.

The rest, as they say, is history.

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.