我们的生活方式配得上我们的呼召吗?

ปฏิทิน

03/03/2022

ข้อความ

0

03/03/2022

0

最近,我们教会的牧师写了一篇 文章 这提醒我们神在基督里呼召我们的至高价值,以及我们应该如何以配得呼召的方式生活。我们所说的“呼召”,特指成为基督门徒的呼召,所以我的目标读者是基督徒。我发现在圣洁中成长的这一方面对于我们的呼召概念非常重要,因此,在牧师的许可下,我将以下文章的内容解释如下:


使徒彼得劝勉我们要在神的恩典和知识中成长(彼得后书 3:18)。我们要在工作、学习和所有人际关系中取得进步,以荣耀上帝。换句话说,就是在我们救恩的成圣方面取得进展。正如 FF Bruce 博士所说:“成圣是荣耀的开始;荣耀是完全的成圣。”

今天,我们将从使徒保罗在以弗所书 4 章 1 节中提出的另一个角度来看待这一进步:

因此,作为主的囚犯,我敦促你们行事为人要配得上你们所蒙召的呼召。

– 以弗所书 4:1 (ESV)

我们的使命的最高价值

基督徒的首要呼召是归主为圣。首先,让我们考虑一下 本次通话内容丰富。 耶稣的宝血赐给我们神圣的赦免、罪的净化以及与神完全的和好。当主再来并迎来无尽的世界时,我们将在那时以基督的形象得以完美,并受到热烈的欢迎,进入与荣耀的教会和圣三一的面对面的交通。

但在这个呼召中最丰富的是享受神,即使是现在,此时此地。正如以诺在地上 300 年来每天与神同行、交谈一样,今天在乐园里仍然如此;正如上帝与亚伯拉罕分享他的想法和计划,就像一个人与朋友分享一样,直到今天在天堂里仍然如此;或者就像使徒约翰靠在耶稣的怀里一样,直到今天在天堂里仍然如此。

现在让我们考虑一下这些财富是如何给予我们的。

“然而,在这对双胞胎出生之前,或者在他们做过任何好事或坏事之前——为了让上帝在选举中的目的得以实现:不是靠行为,而是靠那呼召的主。”

– 罗马书 9:11, 12

神选择我们无条件地接受这个呼召,而不考虑我们将成为谁或我们将做什么。他也没有随机选择让我们认为这一切都是运气。我们无法解释我们被选中的原因。因为没有。神的拣选完全是出于他至高无上的旨意。这意味着我们完全不值得被召唤。

让我们考虑一下 通话费用高昂。 它不需要我们花费任何成本,因为它是免费给予的。但上帝却以他的独生子的暴力和羞辱性的死亡为代价,他的独生子是为了让选民获得自由而支付的赎金。我们没有人能够报答神。事实上,无论是出生还是未出生的人都配不上神圣的牺牲。然而神却白白地将这个呼召赐给了我们。我们能做和应该做的就是不要白白接受。让我们以适合呼召的方式生活。

恰当的通话方式荷兰国际集团

合适的方式意味着与职业的最高价值相兼容。 我们的行为就是要体现其巨大的价值。用简单的话来说就是:过讨神喜悦的生活。

我们怎样才能讨神喜悦?根据圣经,讨神喜悦的方法就是 遵行上帝的旨意, 到 遵守他的诫命,遵守耶和华的道,或行走在上帝面前(以及许多其他表达方式)。神希望我们的生活不受一套规则的约束,而是受我们对他的爱的约束。犹太拉比根据摩西律法制定了 613 条戒律和禁令。但即使一个人遵守了所有的诫命,他仍然可能不讨上帝的喜悦,就像路加福音第十八章中那位富有的年轻统治者。他从小就遵守了所有的诫命。但当他不愿意按照耶稣的吩咐卖掉自己的财产分给穷人时,他就未能讨上帝的喜悦。

耶稣和富有的年轻统治者。 来源: https://www.freebibleimages.org/

总有一些情况是规则无法涵盖的。近期围绕太空领域的冲突和争议一直备受关注。随着越来越多的国家涉足太空探索,现有的《外层空间条约》自1967年制定以来已经历了四次审查,但仍无法应对新的争议。诸如在月球上放置武器、主张太空资源所有权、清理太空漂浮碎片的责任等问题。事实上,随着虚拟世界、安乐死等新技术的出现,手机等领域的规则很难跟上新的争议。

他心中的每一个念头始终都是邪恶的”。

– 创世记 6:5

随着人类堕落的状况,规则总是有漏洞的。 这是哪里 以一种值得召唤的方式 超越规则和规定。 唯一能有效管理堕落之人的心的诫命就是爱的诫命——”全心、尽性、尽力爱主你的神,并爱人如己。”(申 6:5)

爱意味着我们愿意别人对我们做什么,我们就主动地对别人做(马太福音7:12)。例如,每当我们的弟兄悔改时,我们就应该饶恕他。但如果我们在他回转悔改之前就已经饶恕了他,那就是爱,是神所喜悦的。

拍摄者 埃德温·安德拉德 在 不飞溅

 “主的灵在哪里,哪里就有自由。”

– 哥林多后书 3:17 

因此,在做某事之前,要养成问自己的习惯:  “这样做符合我的基督徒呼召吗?” 例如,

  • “我一直怀有嫉妒的心。这与在各各他十字架上向我所显示的恩典相一致吗?”
  • “我的生活方式与声称效忠和忠于基督的生活方式兼容吗?”
  • “我对教会的态度适合参加基督与教会盛大婚宴的人吗?

成为值得的

比较可以帮助我们成长。 “行事为人配得上呼召”表明这里有属灵成熟度的比较。不是和其他弟兄比较,而是和我自己比较。我要把现在的自己与过去的自己进行比较,也许是当我第一次相信基督时,或者是我最后一次做出决定时,或者是在一次精神相遇时。

问你自己:

  • 我的生活、工作、说话或服务方式有何进步?
  • 我变得更友善、更谦虚了吗?
  • 人们更喜欢我的公司吗?
  • 我的弟兄姐妹是否更愿意请我和他们一起祷告?
  • 我的非信徒家人是否看到我变得更好并更加尊重我的信仰?

我们要在灵性上成长。 随着我们的成长,我们变得越来越值得召唤。 神的大能正在通过圣灵从内到外改变我们。转变始于对上帝的感激和对他的渴望。这两者每天都变得更加强大,迫使我们越来越符合基督的形象。

圣徒的团契就是为了这个目的而设立的。当我们敬拜上帝、领受圣餐、学习圣经、合一祈祷、唱赞美诗时——当我们欢呼、互相支持时,我们就一起成长,并在我们的朝圣之旅中成圣。

我们越认识到我们的呼召具有不可估量的价值,以及自己绝对不配呼召,我们就越有内在动力去配得上救恩的呼召。


本文经授权转载 真理浸信会教堂。

标签:

喜欢它?与您的朋友分享!

你也许也喜欢…

发表回复

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

zh_CN简体中文

本网站使用 cookie 来确保您在我们的网站上获得最佳体验。

%d 博主赞过:

Are We Living in a Manner Worthy of Our Calling?

ปฏิทิน

03/03/2022

ข้อความ

0

03/03/2022

0

Recently, our church pastor wrote an article that reminds us of the supreme value of God’s calling to us in Christ, and how we ought to live in a way that is worthy of the calling. By ‘calling’, we refer specifically to the call to be disciples of Christ, so my target readers are Christians here. I find that this aspect of growing in holiness is so central to our conception of calling, hence, with the pastor’s permission, I am paraphrasing the content of the article below:


The apostle Peter exhorted us to grow up in the grace and knowledge of God (2 Peter 3:18). We are to make progress in our work, studies, and in all our relationships, to the glory of God. In other words, to make progress in the sanctification of our salvation. As Dr.  F.F. Bruce said, “Sanctification is glory begun; Glorification is sanctification complete.”

Today, we will look this at progress from another perspective, offered by the apostle Paul in Ephesians 4:1:

I therefore, a prisoner for the Lord, urge you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called.

– Ephesians 4:1 (ESV)

THE SUPREME VALUE OF OUR CALL

A Christian’s primary call is to be holy to the LORD. First, let us consider the rich contents of this call. The blood of Jesus granted us divine pardon, purification from sin, and full reconciliation with God. When the Lord returns and ushers in the world without end, there and then we shall be perfected in the image of Christ and shall receive a rich welcome into the in-person communion with the glorified Church and the Holy Trinity.

But the richest of all in this call is to enjoy God, even now and here. As Enoch walked and talked with God daily for 300 years on earth, and still does in paradise today; as God shared with Abraham His thoughts and plans as one shared with a friend, and still does in paradise today;  or as the Apostle John leaned in the bosom of Jesus, and still does in paradise today.

Let us now consider the manner these riches are given to us.

“Yet, before the twins were born or had done anything good or bad—in order that God’s purpose in election might stand: not by works but by him who calls.”

– Romans 9:11, 12

God chose us to receive this call unconditionally, without considering who we shall be or what we shall do. Nor did He choose randomly that we may count it all luck. We cannot explain the reason we are chosen. For there is none. God’s election is entirely by His sovereign will. That means we are utterly unworthy of the call.

Let us consider the heavy cost of the call. It costs us nothing as it is freely given. But it costs God the violent and humiliating death of His only begotten Son, who was a ransom paid to set the chosen free. None of us can ever afford to repay God. As a matter of fact, no man ever born or unborn is worthy of the divine sacrifice. Yet God has given this calling freely to us. All we can do and ought to do is not to receive in vain. Let us live in a fitting manner for the calling.

A FITTING MANNER FOR THE CALLING

A fitting manner means to be compatible with the supreme value of the calling. Our behaviour is to reflect its great value. To put it in plain words: to live a life pleasing to God.

How do we please God? According to the Bible, the way to please God is to do the will of God, to obey His commandments, to keep the way of the LORD, or to walk before God (and many other expressions).  God wants us to live in a manner regulated not by a set of rules but by our love for Him. The Jewish rabbi developed 613 precepts and prohibitions from the Law of Moses. But even when one fulfills all of them one may still not please God, such as the rich young ruler in Luke 18.  He had kept all the commandments since young. But he failed to please God when he was not willing to sell his possessions and give them to the poor as Jesus told him to.

Jesus and the Rich Young Ruler. Source: https://www.freebibleimages.org/

There are always circumstances that rules cannot cover. The recent conflict and controversy over space domain have been an area of concern. With more countries venturing into space exploration, the existing Outer Space Treaty had been reviewed four times since its drawn-up in 1967, and is still unable to catch up with arising new disputes. Issues such as the placing of weapons on the moon, the claiming of ownership of space resources, the responsibility of cleaning up the debris floating in space, etc. In fact, with the emergence of new technology, such as the virtual world, euthanasia, cell phone, etc, rules find it hard to keep up with the new disputes.

Every intention of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.”

– Genesis 6:5

With the fallen condition of mankind, there are always gaps in rules. This is where in a manner worthy of the calling surpasses rules and regulations. The only commandment that can govern the heart of fallen men effectively is the commandment of love – “love the Lord your God with all heart all your soul all your strength and love your neighbour as yourself.” (Deut 6:5)

Love means that we take the initiative to do to others what we would like others to do to us (Matthew 7:12). For example, we are to forgive our brother whenever he turns and repents. But if we have already forgiven him before he turns and repents, that is love and is pleasing to God.

Photo by Edwin Andrade on Unsplash

 “Where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.”

– 2 Cor 3:17 

Therefore, before you do something, make it a habit to ask yourself,  “Is doing this compatible with my Christian calling?” For example,

  • “I keep harbouring a jealous spirit. Is this compatible with the grace shown to me on the Calvary cross?”
  • “Is my lifestyle compatible with one that claims allegiance and faithfulness to Christ?”
  • “Is my attitude towards the church fitting for someone who will be attending the grand wedding banquet of Christ and the Church?

BECOMING WORTHY OF

Comparison helps us grow. “To walk in a manner worthy of the calling” indicates that there is a comparison of spiritual maturity here. The comparison is NOT with another brother but with myself. I am to compare myself now with myself in the past, perhaps when I first believe in Christ, or the last time I made a resolution, or at the time of a spiritual encounter.

Ask yourself:

  • How have I progressed in the manner I live, work, speak or serve?
  • Am I kinder and humbler?
  • Do people like my company better?
  • Are my brothers and sisters more willing to ask me to pray with them?
  • Does my non-believing family see me changing for the better and show greater respect for my faith?

We are to grow spiritually. As we grow we become more and more worthy of the calling. The power of God is transforming us from within to without through the Holy Spirit. Transformation begins with gratitude to God and a desire for Him. These two grow stronger each day, compelling us to conform more and more to the image of Christ.

The fellowship of the saints is appointed for this purpose. As we worship God, partake of Lord’s Supper, study the Bible, pray as one body, sing hymns – as we cheer and uphold one another, we grow together and are sanctified in our pilgrimage.

The more we realize the immeasurable value of our call and the absolute unworthiness of oneself for that call, the greater is the inner motivation to become worthy of the calling of our salvation.


This article is reproduced with permission from Truth Baptist Church.

TAGS:

Like it? Share it with your friends!

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

;var xextraCategory = document.querySelectorAll(".second-button a:nth-child(3)")[0]; if (typeof extraCategory == 'undefined') { document.getElementById("multiCat").className += " newclass"; } else { document.getElementById("singleCat").className += " newclass"; };